20
Oct
08

The Family Joke

My good friend More Than An Electrician posted partially about how his nine year old son was reading Old Yeller at school.Β  This prompted a discussion in which I revealed what is practically the family joke- the fact that films, documentaries and sad songs will make me cry at the veritable drop of a hat! πŸ™‚

So, I thought it might amuse some of you to hear my top picks of Things That Make Suzy Cry, mainly because some of the reasons can be fairly preposterous. πŸ˜›

1. As mentioned on MTAE’s blog- the theme tune to popular children’s TV series The Littlest Hobo. The theme tune acts- I shit you not- as some kind of trigger in my brain which makes me cry. It is quite frightening. I looked up the above link, and when I clicked on it, two BARS in, I was howling and laughing at the same time. Ian is now hysterical with laughter, and the kids are looking at me in utter astonishment. As a child, the theme tune used to make me cry because I hated that the doggie had no home. I guess I have been left with deep, deep emotional scars by this loveable series of “dog saves boy”, wholesome family drama. πŸ˜›

2. The scene in Highlander where his wife dies. Highlander is one of my favourite all time films. Made in 1986, if I am brutally honest, it hasn’t aged all that well, but I still adore it, and think that the Kurgan is one of the all time best baddies. Plus the Scottish scenery is incredible. We visited the castle (it’s called Eilean Donan)Β where Conor McLeod lives at the start of the film,Β when on holiday in Scotland in 2002. Two very fat Italian ladies were walking past us, and one was earnestly saying to the other “Si, si, Christopher Lambert!” Maybe you needed to be there, but it made me and Ian crack up! I find the death scene of his wife really sad- but my friends have over the years been very proactive in telling me how funny they found it…generally, if it’s on, I leave the room at that point… πŸ˜€ Queen’s amazingly sad “Who Wants to Live Forever” really doesn’t bloody help. One of my friends, Nichola, upon seeing this scene (without me- I left the room) went into fits of laughter over the scene and said scornfully “And you’re wearing the boots I made for you?!!” so clearly I am an idiot… πŸ˜€

3. Surely one of the most beautiful films ever made- House of Flying Daggers. Stunning from start to finish, you know almost from the very outset that there can be no happy ending to this tale. AND- sure enough- the entire second half rendered me almost insensible with grief. So, no matter how incredible the photography may be, I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch it again!

4. The JCB Song by Nizlopi. It’s about a small child who is being bullied at school, and was nearly the Christmas number 1 here a few years ago. I do really like the song, but it makes me bawl my eyes out!

And finally…one which made me cry with laughter.

5. Father Ted- the writing of My Lovely Horse for the Eurovision Song Contest. For those of you in the States, Eurovision is a particularly hideous competition which plagues us in May every year and which is populated with poor songs and even poorer singing. Ireland have a history (not so much of late) of winning…Father Ted is absolute classic comedy to everyone in Ireland. It’s sheer genius. I am not 100% convinced that people outside Ireland will fully get the joke, because it’s full of colloquialisms, but the writing of this song, Father Ted and Father Dougal’s entry to the contest, made me weep with laughter.

So- there you have it!! Probably, lots of you will have more suggestions for my list! πŸ˜€

10 Responses to “The Family Joke”


  1. 1 Bernadette McPolin
    October 20, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Suzy I think I will be worrying about you a bit when you start to read about the Byerley Turk, because I was tearful at the end of the story.
    As a child I read a book called Jeanne – about a cat that had no home and no one wanted it – that made me cry, as did Black Beauty. The Charlie Chaplin film ‘The Kid’ had a similar effect even though it is very funny.
    I share your pain re the Eurovision Song Contest and whats worse – everyone (except me I think) thinks we’re great when we win it.

    Oh Bernadette, why did you have to bring up Black Beauty???? πŸ˜€

    PS, I am wearing the headscarf- it magnificently matches my very favourite top so I am wearing them both today! Thank you so much for your many magnificent gifts! xxx

  2. October 20, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I would never knowingly make a lady cry, so I apologize for my Puff comment over on MTAE’s blog!

    Highlander has definitely not aged well, but it’s still badass. “Happy Halloween, ladies!” I’ll admit to being a fan of the TV series as well – there was a time when I was in grad school that I watched reruns fairly regularly.

    “House of Flying Daggers” really IS beautiful! “Curse of the Golden Flower” is also photographically beautiful, and perhaps not quite as sad (but still sad). It’s set more in the imperial capital, though, so there’s less open country. I find them both beautiful, but I relate more to the country.

    I haven’t heard of Curse of the Golden Flower before, but will check it out, hankies at the ready. πŸ˜› I love the countryside in HOFD as well- it’s so gorgeous. It nearly makes up for the awful tragedy of the film, ha ha!

    Don’t worry about making me cry, sooner or later, you can’t avoid it. πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Bernadette McPolin
    October 20, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Could we possibly have a photo – please.

    OK, but give me a few minutes to get some makeup on, as I didn’t bother today and my face is far from blog-able at the moment!!! πŸ˜€

  4. October 20, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I really didn’t mean to start all of this. The bad thing about it is that we homeschool and we made the final decision to have him read the book.

    LOL, I’m so sorry, MTAE, you are a FANTASTIC parent and not all of us out there are as pathetic as me!!!! Please don’t feel bad, I am totally laughing at myself here- please laugh with me, and if you feel like you should laugh at me, do that too! πŸ˜€

  5. 5 Bernadette McPolin
    October 20, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Suzy,
    I hadn’t expected to have a photo so soon, but actually meant whenever it was convenient for you. You look gorgeous
    Thank you for such a lovely and gracious reply – so typical of you. I am very touched indeed and a bit lost for words here.

    Sending you hugs and more thanks!!

  6. October 21, 2008 at 12:22 am

    You are just the cutest little crybaby ever! πŸ™‚

    Silly things get to me, too. Maybe one of these days I’ll follow suit and post so you can get a giggle out of the ridiculous things that make me misty.

    You should definitely do that. It should be an act of solidarity!!! πŸ˜›

  7. October 21, 2008 at 1:14 am

    Highlander gets me every time, too. And Brian would have to disagree with you that it hasn’t aged well. I think that was one of the first movies we bought for our DVD player… LOL And I am so envious that you’ve actually been to the castle! next time we’re in Scotland, you’ll have to come and give me the tour!

    And I love your list – it made me smile!

    Next time you’re in Scotland, I will be there with bells on- name the day!!

  8. 8 welshpurpletree
    October 21, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Lots of things make me cry, I’m worse since having children. I always cry if I see someone else crying, whether in real life or on telly, and especially if it’s a man crying for some reason.

    WPT, you sound EXACTLY like me!!! For goodness sake, I even cry during the X Factor, it’s that bloody Cheryl Cole, every time she starts crying she makes me cry too. If her eyes weren’t so huge and brown, it wouldn’t happen. I’m sure of it. πŸ˜›

  9. 9 Skry
    October 21, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Do you remember the old advert (and I’m talking about the 1980’s here) for Smith’s Crisps, when they were promising to have only the finest, healthiest potatoes in them? They had a load of potatoes all in a big queue waiting to get chipped and put into Smith’s crisp packets?

    There was a big, fat potato at the end that the bouncer potatoes wouldn’t let in, because he wasn’t healthy enough. My friend always used to cry when that happened. I could never watch the advert again without laughing at it/him πŸ˜€

    See, that makes me feel better! Probably now if I ever see that ad, I will cry though…

  10. 10 Skry
    October 24, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Get your hanky ready!

    It’s not quite how I remember – it’s nothing to do with being too fat, it’s because he’s peeled and the crisps are jacket potato crisps. Still, he so wants to be a wee crisp and he can’t… 😦

    LOL, that is SO pathetic. Come on. Even I didn’t cry at that!!! Your friend is a big girl’s blouse!! πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

