20
Oct
08

For Bernadette!

I had a gorgeous afternoon yesterday, at my Dad’s house with Ian and the kids, plus my brother Brian, and great family friends Bernadette and Heather McP. My brother Marty had hurt his back, and was missed!

My Dad made the most magnificent lunch- fish cooked in cream and parmesan, leg of lamb with rosemary and garlic, and a delicious blackberry crumble. Brian brought a lemon meringue pie, and Heather a banana cake, which were both amazing!

Bernadette and Heather had brought me the most amazing birthday presents! My birthday tomorrow coincides delightfully with my second round of chemo, so it’s a bit of a no-go this year!

Heather gave me a gorgeous pampering set, and I have been using it already, it smells delicious. Thank you, my dear friend, you are the best!

Bernadette gave me SO many different things- several books, perfume and body lotion, a GORGEOUS red lippy (you know how much I love those!!), a beautiful handmade card…the list really did go on and I was so touched! One of her wonderful gifts was a beautiful magenta/purple silk scarf which matches one of my favourite tops perfectly. I have been wearing it all day!

Β Photobucket

She also got together with my Dad and collected flowers from his garden, turning them into the most gorgeous and artistic arrangement, which are now proudly displayed on our mantlepiece (please forgive the disgusting decor, the living room is beyond hideous- not our choice- but until the kids are old enough to stop trashing it, it’ll have to do!!)

Photobucket

Thank you SO MUCH to everyone for yesterday afternoon, to which everyone contributed and which I so much enjoyed. I am so spoiled!!!!

7 Responses to “For Bernadette!”


  1. October 20, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I love the colour of that headscarf! It’s such a cheerful colour!

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow; I hope that you have a nice day despite the chemo! I send you imaginary chocolate cake!

    Thank you Jennie- imaginary birthday cake has the added bonus of being calorie free and non-barfable following chemo! πŸ˜€

  2. October 21, 2008 at 12:26 am

    You look beautiful! I love the pictures and I’m so happy you were spoiled because you deserve it.

    Is it Tuesday there yet?!?!?

    Well, Happy Birthday if it is…otherwise, I’ll be back to wish it again later!

    Thank you!! Tuesday is nearly over now, I just didn’t get round to replying to my comments earlier, my bad!

  3. October 21, 2008 at 12:26 am

    It IS Tuesday there, YAY!!! I think I have the time difference down now. πŸ˜‰

    I still get confused, at least we only have one time zone… πŸ˜€

  4. October 21, 2008 at 12:59 am

    I will write you later to send you proper birthday greetings, but I wanted to let you know that you look AMAZING in that scarf. You should have an entire wardrobe in that color! Bernadette really outdid herself on that one.

    I wish I could be there to celebrate with you in person, but wishes from across the pond will have to suffice. Your friends and family are taking wonderful care of you. That dinner makes me hungry!!! LOL

    Bernadette did indeed outdo herself! Thanks for the birthday wishes! xx

    I’ll be thinking of you during chemo tomorrow. Happy Birthday, sweetie!!!!!

  5. October 21, 2008 at 2:11 am

    What a gorgeous scarf! It looks stunning on you. I know your birthday circumstances are different this year, but I hope all of the love surrounding you from family and friends (and those who live in your computer!) will help to make it happy nonetheless! *hugs*

    Well, those who live in my puter are pretty important, you know!! Thanks Laura! πŸ™‚

  6. 6 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 21, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    That is such a beautiful colour , so rich and christmassy, suits you perfectly.

    Thank you- I really like it. πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Skry
    October 21, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Happy Birthday Suzy! Would have liked to have sent this yesterday or Skyped you, but unfortunately our internet connection died last night and now we’re offline at home.

    Still, the thought was there, so happy birthday from me and Jen in New Zealand! Will try to Skype you when the net connection comes back to life a la Net Of The Living Dead πŸ˜€

    Skype needs to be pre planned in our house…would love to talk though! πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

