Archive for October 20th, 2008

20
Oct
08

For Bernadette!

I had a gorgeous afternoon yesterday, at my Dad’s house with Ian and the kids, plus my brother Brian, and great family friends Bernadette and Heather McP. My brother Marty had hurt his back, and was missed!

My Dad made the most magnificent lunch- fish cooked in cream and parmesan, leg of lamb with rosemary and garlic, and a delicious blackberry crumble. Brian brought a lemon meringue pie, and Heather a banana cake, which were both amazing!

Bernadette and Heather had brought me the most amazing birthday presents! My birthday tomorrow coincides delightfully with my second round of chemo, so it’s a bit of a no-go this year!

Heather gave me a gorgeous pampering set, and I have been using it already, it smells delicious. Thank you, my dear friend, you are the best!

Bernadette gave me SO many different things- several books, perfume and body lotion, a GORGEOUS red lippy (you know how much I love those!!), a beautiful handmade card…the list really did go on and I was so touched! One of her wonderful gifts was a beautiful magenta/purple silk scarf which matches one of my favourite tops perfectly. I have been wearing it all day!

 Photobucket

She also got together with my Dad and collected flowers from his garden, turning them into the most gorgeous and artistic arrangement, which are now proudly displayed on our mantlepiece (please forgive the disgusting decor, the living room is beyond hideous- not our choice- but until the kids are old enough to stop trashing it, it’ll have to do!!)

Photobucket

Thank you SO MUCH to everyone for yesterday afternoon, to which everyone contributed and which I so much enjoyed. I am so spoiled!!!!

20
Oct
08

The Family Joke

My good friend More Than An Electrician posted partially about how his nine year old son was reading Old Yeller at school.  This prompted a discussion in which I revealed what is practically the family joke- the fact that films, documentaries and sad songs will make me cry at the veritable drop of a hat! 🙂

So, I thought it might amuse some of you to hear my top picks of Things That Make Suzy Cry, mainly because some of the reasons can be fairly preposterous. 😛

1. As mentioned on MTAE’s blog- the theme tune to popular children’s TV series The Littlest Hobo. The theme tune acts- I shit you not- as some kind of trigger in my brain which makes me cry. It is quite frightening. I looked up the above link, and when I clicked on it, two BARS in, I was howling and laughing at the same time. Ian is now hysterical with laughter, and the kids are looking at me in utter astonishment. As a child, the theme tune used to make me cry because I hated that the doggie had no home. I guess I have been left with deep, deep emotional scars by this loveable series of “dog saves boy”, wholesome family drama. 😛

2. The scene in Highlander where his wife dies. Highlander is one of my favourite all time films. Made in 1986, if I am brutally honest, it hasn’t aged all that well, but I still adore it, and think that the Kurgan is one of the all time best baddies. Plus the Scottish scenery is incredible. We visited the castle (it’s called Eilean Donan) where Conor McLeod lives at the start of the film, when on holiday in Scotland in 2002. Two very fat Italian ladies were walking past us, and one was earnestly saying to the other “Si, si, Christopher Lambert!” Maybe you needed to be there, but it made me and Ian crack up! I find the death scene of his wife really sad- but my friends have over the years been very proactive in telling me how funny they found it…generally, if it’s on, I leave the room at that point… 😀 Queen’s amazingly sad “Who Wants to Live Forever” really doesn’t bloody help. One of my friends, Nichola, upon seeing this scene (without me- I left the room) went into fits of laughter over the scene and said scornfully “And you’re wearing the boots I made for you?!!” so clearly I am an idiot… 😀

3. Surely one of the most beautiful films ever made- House of Flying Daggers. Stunning from start to finish, you know almost from the very outset that there can be no happy ending to this tale. AND- sure enough- the entire second half rendered me almost insensible with grief. So, no matter how incredible the photography may be, I haven’t been able to bring myself to watch it again!

4. The JCB Song by Nizlopi. It’s about a small child who is being bullied at school, and was nearly the Christmas number 1 here a few years ago. I do really like the song, but it makes me bawl my eyes out!

And finally…one which made me cry with laughter.

5. Father Ted- the writing of My Lovely Horse for the Eurovision Song Contest. For those of you in the States, Eurovision is a particularly hideous competition which plagues us in May every year and which is populated with poor songs and even poorer singing. Ireland have a history (not so much of late) of winning…Father Ted is absolute classic comedy to everyone in Ireland. It’s sheer genius. I am not 100% convinced that people outside Ireland will fully get the joke, because it’s full of colloquialisms, but the writing of this song, Father Ted and Father Dougal’s entry to the contest, made me weep with laughter.

So- there you have it!! Probably, lots of you will have more suggestions for my list! 😀




Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,571 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com