18
Oct
08

Big help in my fight for better health!

My brothers Marty and Brian took the boys for a couple of hours this afternoon, to let me and Ian have a break, which was so much appreciated and let me make the lasagne that Ricky had demanded for dinner!

When Marty brought them back, I was presented with a fruit and vegetable juicer, and a Wii Fit!!! Yay!!!

It’s my birthday on Tuesday- coinciding delightfully with my second round of chemo- so the juicer is an early birthday present. I am desparate to improve my diet, and have been eating tons of raw veggies (it gets very boring very fast- I love raw veggies, but there really are only so many you can eat in a day!!). I am thinking that drinking freshly juiced veggies will allow me to majorly up the amount of raw veggies I am eating, whilst being a bit easier to deal with. I can’t wait to try it out!! πŸ™‚ There is a lot of scientific evidence that eliminating dairy and meat products from your diet and eating mainly raw veggies dramatically increases your body’s ability to kill cancer cells. I am not sure if it is “too late for me” on the dairy aspect of this…I just can’t imagine a world without cheese- but I am trying really hard to cut back on dairy and processed foods, and eat a lot more raw stuff. I am hoping that “everything in moderation” will hold true for me. I know perfectly well that in the medium to long term, I would not be able to stick to such a harsh regime as eating 80% raw veggies as my diet. I salute people who can do it, but really, I’d be alive and miserable…that possibly makes no sense to anyone else, but food is a big part of my life- I love to cook and love to eat good food. Raw veggies are fine for breakfast and lunch, but I really can’t do it all day, every day.

The Wii Fit is on loan from my brother Brian. He says he isn’t using it too much at the moment and is concentrating on his X-Box, so I am really grateful! I have’t tried it out yet but think it will be something fun for all the family. I gather that you need to do a test first which works out your weight, BMI etc, which I will not be too happy with, but need to live with! I put on a load of weight after my diagnosis, to my horror, and it’s coming off again, but very slowly (maybe 1/2lb to 1lb a week), so I hope the Wii Fit will help me with that too.

Tomorrow my Dad is having one of his legendary Sunday lunches in honour of my birthday- I can’t wait! Bernadette and Heather McP, both regular readers, commenters and all round amazing friends of mine, will both be there and I will be delighted to see them! Apart from my little family, my brothers will also be coming, so it promises to be a lovely afternoon. πŸ™‚

Hope you are having a nice weekend too! πŸ™‚

8 Responses to “Big help in my fight for better health!”


  1. October 18, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I hope your birthday is a great one despite all that’s going on! You deserve time with just you and Ian. What a great blessing it is to have them spend time with the boys. Loves always hon!

    Thanks Angela- but I’m going to pretend that my birthday is tomorrow, I know it will be a miserable day on Tuesday! πŸ˜€

  2. October 18, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    That damned BMI thing will just make you mad…it said I was a fat cow. I am 5’7″ and it wants me to be at 144 pounds.

    MTAE, if it thought you were overweight, there is NO CHANCE for me!! πŸ˜€ Still I guess I will brave it and see what it says- though I have a fair idea that it’s going to wheeze “bloody hell woman” at me when I get weighed… πŸ˜›

  3. October 18, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    You’re right about the raw foods, I had a few sessions with a nutritionist when I lived in Phoenix and she said that she wasn’t an “Organic Nazi” but she really did want me to stop eating the Lean Cuisines and Weight Watcher’s meals and replace them with fresh foods. (I’m still fat but…)

    I hope you have a lot of fun with the juicer and the Wii, too!

    Those wee ready meals can be quite nice- and somehow you don’t feel as cheated if you’re eating something hot! “Organic Nazi”- haven’t heard that one before! πŸ˜€

  4. October 18, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Oh! And 1/2 to 1 pound a week weight loss is GOOD and HEALTHY weight loss. I know it doesn’t seem like much, but it adds up. You’re doing so great and you don’t even know it. πŸ˜‰

    I made a lasagne last night which was definitely not on the diet plan. I am now eating leftovers and watching Ian and Ricky play baseball on the Wii. A poor start… πŸ˜€

  5. 5 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 19, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Have a wonderful day today with your family, I hope oyu get fabulously spoilt. The Wii is so much fun !!!! – even more fun when you’ve had a few. Our particular favourite was the boxing, the last time we had a party, the girls kept winning the boxing matches much to the horror and abject terror of their men !!

    We’ve been ten pin bowling all morning!! It’s a lot of fun!

  6. October 20, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Whatever you can do, however small, will make a difference. I’m not sure I’d even use a Wii Fit even if I were gifted one! **hangs head in shame** And your weight loss is about the same as mine, if it makes you feel better.

    And I agree that BMI is just evil. Pure evil.

    Enjoy the lasagne. You can have fresh veggies tomorrow…
    XOXO

    I haven’t dared do the BMI thing and know it will be bad. I did get on the scales this morning and despite stuffing myself all weekend, I don’t seem to have done too much damage, luckily!!

  7. October 20, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    BMI can KMA. (You can probably figure that one out without help.)

    That said, I know I’m horrible, but I don’t think there’s any way I could ever seriously jack up my veggie intake. I’m just not a fan. I convince myself that I’m taking them in concentrated form by eating the things that eat the veggies. πŸ˜‰

    LOL, I am trying to cut down on meat too! However there really wouldn’t be a lot of joy left in my life if I cut everything out altogether!

  8. 8 Skry
    October 21, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Cool that you got a Wii. I’m strongly considering getting one of those at the moment. All I need to do is convince Jen, but maybe a few positive stories about how much fun they are wouldn’t go amiss? πŸ˜›

    Even better that you got a juicer. That is way up on my list of priorities, but slightly higher on the list is a new kitchen big enough to fit the stuff we currently own into it let alone new toys.

    Best of luck with both the Wii and the juicer. Looking forward to hearing about smoothie and juicer recipies in the future πŸ˜€

    I love you and Jen’s characters on Briney’s Wii- they look just like you!! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

