Archive for October 18th, 2008

18
Oct
08

Big help in my fight for better health!

My brothers Marty and Brian took the boys for a couple of hours this afternoon, to let me and Ian have a break, which was so much appreciated and let me make the lasagne that Ricky had demanded for dinner!

When Marty brought them back, I was presented with a fruit and vegetable juicer, and a Wii Fit!!! Yay!!!

It’s my birthday on Tuesday- coinciding delightfully with my second round of chemo- so the juicer is an early birthday present. I am desparate to improve my diet, and have been eating tons of raw veggies (it gets very boring very fast- I love raw veggies, but there really are only so many you can eat in a day!!). I am thinking that drinking freshly juiced veggies will allow me to majorly up the amount of raw veggies I am eating, whilst being a bit easier to deal with. I can’t wait to try it out!! 🙂 There is a lot of scientific evidence that eliminating dairy and meat products from your diet and eating mainly raw veggies dramatically increases your body’s ability to kill cancer cells. I am not sure if it is “too late for me” on the dairy aspect of this…I just can’t imagine a world without cheese- but I am trying really hard to cut back on dairy and processed foods, and eat a lot more raw stuff. I am hoping that “everything in moderation” will hold true for me. I know perfectly well that in the medium to long term, I would not be able to stick to such a harsh regime as eating 80% raw veggies as my diet. I salute people who can do it, but really, I’d be alive and miserable…that possibly makes no sense to anyone else, but food is a big part of my life- I love to cook and love to eat good food. Raw veggies are fine for breakfast and lunch, but I really can’t do it all day, every day.

The Wii Fit is on loan from my brother Brian. He says he isn’t using it too much at the moment and is concentrating on his X-Box, so I am really grateful! I have’t tried it out yet but think it will be something fun for all the family. I gather that you need to do a test first which works out your weight, BMI etc, which I will not be too happy with, but need to live with! I put on a load of weight after my diagnosis, to my horror, and it’s coming off again, but very slowly (maybe 1/2lb to 1lb a week), so I hope the Wii Fit will help me with that too.

Tomorrow my Dad is having one of his legendary Sunday lunches in honour of my birthday- I can’t wait! Bernadette and Heather McP, both regular readers, commenters and all round amazing friends of mine, will both be there and I will be delighted to see them! Apart from my little family, my brothers will also be coming, so it promises to be a lovely afternoon. 🙂

Hope you are having a nice weekend too! 🙂

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com