16
Oct
08

My first day as a wig wearer

Well, I’m more than half way through my first day in the office with my new wig. I emailed all the guys to warn them that I’d be wearing a wig, so they had some time to prepare! πŸ˜€

They’ve all been really supportive so far, and haven’t shunned me, ha ha! I do feel like a complete pillock in the wig. It is going to take a lot of getting used to. It isn’t all that similar to my normal hair, and also I am accustomed to wearing my hair back most of the time, so IΒ am finding it a culture shock to say the least. Also after a while, my head gets a bit sore and I have to run off to the ladies bathroom to take it off for a few minutes! Also, it needs brushed all the time! I am glad I brought my hairbrush into work, which is not something I’d normally ever do!

So, until the last of my hair falls out, to be honest I don’t see me wearing my wig all that much except in work. I am certain that my self confidence will improve and that before I know it, throwing the wig on will be second nature, but it feels like a hassle!

The kids reacted well last night when they got home and saw my drastic haircut. They both giggled a lot and wanted to touch my hair, which of course feels like suede now! I was relieved, because I was half worried that they’d be upset. Ricky has been really sweet and said I still looked fine, and gave me a double thumbs up! πŸ˜€

My hair has never been so short before. I went to the shop last night, and the wind blowing through my scanty locks was nearly tickly! πŸ™‚ Plus lying down to go to sleep last night was just plain weird- it does not feel the same at all!! πŸ˜›

A lot to get used to- but I know it will be fine, and that’s the main thing. πŸ™‚

9 Responses to “My first day as a wig wearer”


  1. October 16, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Wear a short skirt and no one’s eyes will move about your waist line. πŸ™‚

    Great idea- with only one flaw, well, actually TWO flaws- left leg and right leg… πŸ˜›

    Probably then all the passers by would be like “Hey, look at the hooker with the wig!” πŸ˜€

  2. October 17, 2008 at 12:14 am

    hugs for you. Glad the boys liked your new look. πŸ™‚

    Robbie keeps touching my baldy head and giggling. Ricky saw me in a wig and said “Oh! Did your hair grow back already!” πŸ˜€

  3. October 17, 2008 at 12:29 am

    You looks so good without the wig, I wouldn’t even bother wearing it if it hurts you and bugs you. I’m positive your coworkers feel the same way. They’re just happy to have you around. Hair or no hair. πŸ™‚

    I’ll probably only wear it to work for now…when the rest of my hair falls out, I might have to rethink! I have TONS of hats though! πŸ˜€

  4. 4 Jenny
    October 17, 2008 at 3:10 am

    It will loosen up after being worn a few times – mine did, anyway. Hopefully it won’t loosen up too much though as you still want it to stay on πŸ™‚

    Your workmates will get used to your head no matter how much or little hair is on it. Just wear what makes you feel and look good.

    Robbie keeps trying to remove it when I am getting him in and out of the car!!

  5. October 17, 2008 at 3:33 am

    Hooker with a wig…too funny!

    πŸ˜€ I should have said “chubby hooker in a wig!”

  6. 6 Jo
    October 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Suzy you look amazing with your hair short like that! You really suit it. You look great with the wig too – at least now you’ve got 2 style options!
    xx

    Aw, thanks Jo! πŸ™‚ I have the wig on as I am in work, and it’s driving me feckin’ crackers!! I can’t wait to go home and be baldy! πŸ˜€

  7. 7 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 18, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    “”Robbie keeps trying to remove it when I am getting him in and out of the car!! “”

    That is too funny an image, I can just imagine his wee cheeky grin !! A double thumbs up would be good enough for me, you look gorgeous with or without the wig xx

    The grin you are imagining is a very accurate assessment of the situation! πŸ˜€

  8. October 20, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    My coworker’s daughter who is a young breast cancer survivor got tired of the wigs after a few days and just did the head-scarf thing. As for the short hair, you get used to it surprisingly quickly.

    “Hooker with a wig” made me laugh, too!

    I don’t like the wig, but think that sometimes it will be a necessary evil.The short hair is leaving town amazingly fast, I look a bit weird now!! πŸ˜€

  9. 9 Skry
    October 21, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Hope you get used to the wig soon. I’m glad that everyone, even your kids, are being supportive.

    I know when my mum got her wig I immediately let her down by not being that supportive. Looking back it was a combination of age (immaturity maybe) and not being used to seeing her look that way. If she’d have stuck with it for a couple of weeks she would be the only mum I could remember by now. I feel very bad about that now, as I realise that it does take a good bit of guts and somoe positive encouragement to wear a wig…

    I never knew that about your Mum. I’m sorry it ended up that way. She seems fine with her natural hair now! I think some people just aren’t meant to wear wigs…hugs to you!

    Still you seem to suit your wig well and look great in it, not to mention getting a lot of positive vibes from people. Bonus on Ricky giving you two thumbs up – showing me and my innaturity up big style!!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

