15
Oct
08

A Very Different Haircut!

Well, the fateful day has finally come.

My hair was coming out in great big massive chunks, and as I want to donate it to a children’s charity, I thought I should act before there was nothing left to donate! So, this morning, feeling not too cheerful, I made the call to the hairdresser who cuts my sons hair (and Ian’s too, when he can be half assed!!) and asked if she could do it.

She kind of put me on the spot by telling me to come on down- I’d somehow imagined that she’d say to come on Friday or Monday, but it’s probably been a good thing in hindsight that I didn’t have time to think about it too much.

Julie owns Black Knights Hairdressing in Ballygowan- I know how kind she is because of how she has dealt with Ricky in the past, and I knew she’d deal with the situation sensitively. She whisked me into a back room and discussed what was needed. I was shaking like a leaf when I got there, but she really put me at my ease and made it so easy.

I got my hair taken down to a number 2. I can’t bear the big clumps which come out in your hands when washing your hair at this stage, so this way, any bristles will just go down the plug hole. I am hoping this will make the process less painful and difficult.

Julie was also kind enough to style my new wig for me. It was a bit too long for my comfort, and the fringe wasn’t easy to deal with. She cut and layered it for me, and I am pleased with the results, though it will take a while to get used to it all!

Emotionally, I am dealing with this much better than I thought I would. I thought I would sit and cry while she did it, but I wore the now-compulsory red lippy, gave myself a stiff pep talk on the way down about how it was only hair, to stop being so bloody melodramatic, and to remember why I was doing this. It worked pretty well. The only tears I have shed today have been when I was washing my hair before I left, and it was all coming out. That was hard.

So- I live to fight another day!! I’m even more comfortable with my nearly baldy head than I thought I would be. It’s bloody cold though. I hadn’t realised how warm my hair was keeping me! It’s not just the head itself, but my shoulders where my hair normally goes. Hmmm. I will put the heating on!

Many thanks to Julie, for giving me courage to get through this, and for being such a kind person, and for giving me a great haircut!

GI Suzy-

Photobucket

Suzy with Wig-

Photobucket

34 Responses to “A Very Different Haircut!”


  1. October 15, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    You are beautiful! *sniff, sniff* I got all teary-eyed reading this. Your strength amazes me! You are kicking cancer’s @ss with such grace and poise. I will say it again – You Are My Hero!!!!!! And you ROCK the red lipstick!

    And what a kind, gentle soul Julie is, for taking such good care of you!

    Sending you many (((HUGS)))!!!

    Thank you, Karen! Red lippy has always been a favourite of mine- it’s my getting-what-I-want colour! πŸ˜€

  2. October 15, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    You are SO beautiful with your hair that short! I think Demi Moore better be glad she starred in GI Jane before you had to cut your hair. You would have given her a run for her money! Hot momma!

    It’s weird, I actually don’t really mind the short hair- SHOCK!!!

  3. 3 CinBin
    October 15, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Crikey, you look brill in both pics! You always have been a total cow Suzy. A brave cow, this week, it would seem. I don’t want to go all vaseline screen and Danielle Steel here, but the way you’ve approached this particular hurdle is incredibly inspiring. You have my love gorgeous girl xoxo

    Cinta, I’m not really sure what to do with the comparison to a cow, but thank you- I think… πŸ˜€ I really want to meet up with you and H as soon as funds will allow. Will be in touch! xx

  4. 4 Emer
    October 15, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Honestly Suzy – the photo of you with that lipsick with your buzzed down hair is just gorgeous! You have THE most beautiful face. I would go so far as to say that the wig is nearly not necessary.

    Well done you brave girl and hair or no – you are stunning!

    Much love,
    E. x

    Ah, but sadly the little bit of hair I have left is not going to be hanging around!! I dunno if I can face the world a la Duncan Goodhew. πŸ™‚

  5. 5 welshpurpletree
    October 15, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I agree with all of the above, you look gorgeous with and without the wig. Take care.

    Thank you!!

  6. October 15, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    I love the wig – it’s such a pretty style! And the other commenters have been right about you looking just as good without it – you have a nice shaped head, and so can carry the look off well! Just don’t let your head get chilled in this cold, damp, autumnal weather! xxx

    My head is chuffin’ freezing!! All the people who have knitted and posted me hats need not worry about their efforts having been in vain! πŸ˜€

  7. 7 Andrea R
    October 15, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    you are GORGEOUS Suzy! Not everyone can pull off the shaved look while looking so good!! And the new hair is beautiful, the stylist did a great job with the cut, it looks so natural. I can see already that you are kicking ass with the cancer while not allowing it to control you! You are amazing! I think of you often! XOXO

    Thank you Andrea- the boys are due home any minute now (gulp) so I am hoping they won’t completely disown me!!

  8. October 15, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    You are beautiful Suzy, no matter what!!!!!

    xoxoxox

    Thank you! I miss you, hope you and the family are well! xxx

  9. 9 Netty
    October 15, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Suzy you are still beautiful, you really do the shaved look well πŸ˜‰ Continued prayers for a fast recovery.

    xoxo

    Thanks Netty- your scarves will be put to good use! xx

  10. 10 emma
    October 15, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    i LOVE the crop – you look great with it and can really carry it off. i’m so sorry for the reasons behind it, but you look strong and beautiful with the buzz cut. personally, i’d be screwed if it ever happened to me as i have cysts like marbles on my head. so, be proud of your smooth head and keep applying the lipstick (i felt the same about my eyeliner in labour).

    Your eyeliner stayed put to quite an amazing extent during labour, going by your “after” pics! πŸ˜€ You’re gonna have to tell me what brand it is!!

  11. October 15, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Oh, you look wonderful! I’m so glad that it didn’t upset you too much! And even if it did, you have every right to be upset!

    Really, I’m fine. But I haven’t really been out and about much yet. It’s easy to feel brave in your own armchair! I might go to the shop or something when Ian gets home, just to check that I can!

  12. 12 emma
    October 15, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    it’s not the brand (I use all sorts – but ALWAYS liquid with a thin brush) it’s the fact that I managed not to cry and that over years of practice, I now know exactly how to wipe my eye without buggering up the line. soooo vital to my mental health. i would seriously choose it before shoes.

    Maybe I will buy one and practice! πŸ˜€

  13. October 15, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Agreed with the others, you rock the buzzcut, gal!

    I’m sorry this hit so quickly. I grew my hair to my shoulders when I was in college and to be perfectly honest I don’t think I would have dealt very well with it all coming out in clumps, either. Hell, I didn’t deal all THAT well with my hairline gradually packing up and moving north…which is why I did the same thing. I went in and had it all buzzed down to a #2.

    It was fine when I did it, because it was July. Come October I was back in school and couldn’t figure out why the back of my neck was getting so cold!

    I eventually went down to a #1, then no guard, and I’ve been shaving with a blade for about a year and a half. I actually like it better smooth. (So does my wife!) πŸ˜€

    Why thank you, kind sir. πŸ™‚ I just went to the shop, and the wind in my very short hair was nearly tickly- I am learning all kinds of new things today!

  14. October 15, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    You are beautiful Suzy! I really think it looks great!!!!!! Plus, there isn’t a haircut in the world that could take away from your radiating smile!

    Ah Kristi, it’s all the lipstick! πŸ˜› Thank you so much! ((hugs))

  15. 15 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 15, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Bloody hell, you look stunning !! Trust you to carry off a buzz cut so well, its that gorgeous face, love the wig too- the colour is lovely and one hell of a shine . You look fab. Sightly sickened by how well you carry off the red lipstick too, that is a notoriously tricky shade to wear and uber glam. Love you loads xxx

    Aw, thanks hun! Hey, you knew me as a teenager- I loved my red lippy back then too! πŸ˜€

  16. 16 Caitlin
    October 15, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Ok, first – LOVE the wig. Great color, great cut, and no fucking frizz! woo hoo! Having said that – you kinda ROCK the shaved head look. Nice to know you have options, should you feel like being “edgy” one day. {{HUGGY}}

    No fucking frizz is exactly right!!! Love you Caitlin, for always saying what everyone else is afraid to and making me laugh! πŸ˜€

  17. 17 Kristen
    October 15, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Suzy you are an amazing woman! And not to mention GORGEOUS! I totally think you rock the shaved head look too! Wow! Can anything look bad on you?

    Um- yes, quite a lot of things!! Thanks though, and SO great to hear from you!! Hope all is well with you and your beautiful boys! xx

  18. 18 Sara
    October 15, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I think you look beautiful, hair or no hair. I would be disheartened with my hair coming out in clumps, too. You were very brave shaving it down. Hope those hats come in handy. Don’t let yourself get a chill. That’s the last thing you need. You should take pics of you wearing them and your different wigs, too. You look simply gorgeous! {hugs}

    I will definitely take pics! I can’t thank you enough, Sara- I have been using your blanket a LOT! xxx

  19. 19 Lisa
    October 15, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Suzy….I am Kristi V’s mom and I want you to know she has been sharing your journey with me and today shared your beautiful picture with me of your new do! Honey you are an inspiration and a beautiful soul. You remind me that life is so precious and a blessing from God and your smile has been perfectly placed by God to warm one’s heart. I will keep you in my prayers and just know that there is a mom out there who is especially thanking God for her own daughters and for being able to see the smile of an angel this morning on the beautiful face of a courageous young lady named Suzy! Bless you, Momma Lisa

    Thank you for such a lovely message, Lisa! Your daughter is a very, very special woman, and someone I am blessed and privileged to know. Life is indeed precious! I am so lucky to have so many people supporting me. Thank you so much!

  20. 20 Emma C
    October 15, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    You look Fab. You certainly do not look like you have just had a spell at the NHS’s pleasure!! Love both looks, a very brave lady!

    Thanks Emma- I felt fine today and worked all day from home. πŸ™‚ I got this done in my lunch break! I plan on going in to the office tomorrow. πŸ™‚

  21. 21 Bernadette McPolin
    October 15, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    You look quite simply stunning Suzy, with and without the wig. You really do look beautiful – and no giving out here please about exaggeration !!- because I mean every word of it.
    How incredibly brave of you to go ahead and do this, and so good to know that you have a lovely hairdresser who is sensitive to your needs. All I can say is that I am in awe of you, and that you have all my love, prayers, and support.
    I hope that very soon you, J and H will be out and about. Lots of love xxx, and (((hugs)))

    Thank you Bernadette- and I am looking forward to seeing you this weekend!! πŸ™‚

  22. 22 Brian
    October 15, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Hah! You look badass sis! I think i prefer no wig, tho the wig is pretty sweet. Nice to see a big cheesy grin on yer face too πŸ™‚

    B

    LOL, Ricky’s first comment was “you look like Uncle Brian”, so I’d wipe the smerk off your beak if I were you!!!! πŸ˜€

  23. 23 tina from Maryland
    October 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Suzy.. I think you look STUNNING without the wig, seriously. And I am moved beyond words that you donated your hair..
    Glad to know you had such a great hairdresser to help you though this too!
    Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, MAMA!!

    xoxoxox

    Thanks Tina- someone might as well get the use of it! πŸ™‚

  24. October 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I remember my brother’s haircut when he went into basic training…he was scary looking.

    Some people have heads shaped nicely enough to have short hair and you should be included in that group…my brother was not so fortunate.

    Both my bro’s keep their hair about as short as mine is now! Thank you for the compliment. πŸ™‚

  25. October 16, 2008 at 12:18 am

    Who needs wigs when you look that great with short hair?!?!? Well, unless you want to keep your cute noggin warm. You’ve got such a beautiful face and I think the buzzcut is awesome!

    I know it is a big adjustment and a lot to take in right now, but look how amazing you are! You didn’t let it get the best of you, you did what you knew had to be done, you posted pictures and wrote about your experience. That shows incredible strength and spirit, love.

    Don’t you forget it. πŸ˜‰

    It IS a big change! I’m not sure how I feel about the wig, but am sure I will get used to it!

  26. 26 katbur
    October 16, 2008 at 4:19 am

    Work that scalp baby! You look great and you know what? It’s okay to cry, whether it’s about hair or just some weepy movie. Hang in there, it will grow back and you never know what it’s gonna look like then.

    Well, I know now that I am not scared of having short hair! πŸ™‚

  27. 27 Jenny
    October 16, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Suzy, you look AMAZING! Your eyes look huge in that top pic, very Sinead O’Connor, and the red lipstick just looks fantastic. I’m glad that you have a good hairdresser who looked after you during what must have been a very difficult visit for you.

    You look brill in the wig too – it was an excellent choice. I hope you enjoy being able to play with lots of different hairstyles until your own hair grows back. Be warned, though, wig-buying can be an expensive hobby! I would spend a fortune if I still had a working credit card πŸ™‚

    I don’t have any credit cards any more either- and am glad I don’t, lol! It’s too easy to spend the money!

  28. October 16, 2008 at 7:47 am

    You look fantastic with your #2 Suzy! I can’t think of the words so just picture me giving you two thumbs up πŸ˜€

    That’s what Ricky did! πŸ˜€

  29. 29 Sarah McBride
    October 16, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I think you should stick with the GI Suzy look, it really goes with the “2 fingers to cancer” look. Seriously though, the wig looks great, and it’s good that your hairdresser can style them for you if you want to change them. Massive hugs for getting this far and hope you’re feeling a good bit better than last weekend

    It’s mainly for people like my colleagues that I will stick with a wig for work and so on…I don’t think all of them would be comfortable with me sitting here with a baldy head!! πŸ˜€

  30. October 16, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Not only do you look beautiful, but what you did is a wonderful thing. I really admire your strength and your attitude in life, Suzy. You are inspiring.

    Many, many hugs.

    Thanks Ingrid- great to hear from you! xx

  31. October 16, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I agree, you look great. But then again it was never your hair that made you a beautiful person.

    Thanks Noah! xo

  32. October 16, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    (and I mean that as in you’re beautiful on the inside, not that you had bad hair, just to clarify, ooops!)

    I know what you meant, silly! πŸ˜€

  33. 33 Skry
    October 17, 2008 at 4:09 am

    The GI Suzy look is pretty sweet! I kinda like it. Goes well with the black kevlar looking thing Julie used when cutting your hair.

    You look great in the wig and no doubt you will be wearing it out a lot. Jenny is right though – white wine, credit card and E-Bay combined will surround you with many wigs! Be prepared to look back from some time in the future to now and wonder how you ever lived without wigs πŸ˜€

    Also found this on another blog and thought you might like it: http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2008/05/this-made-me-laugh-til-i-cried.html

    I think I look a bit Joan of Arc-ish in that picture!! Hopefully noone will try and burn me at the stake just yet. πŸ˜€

  34. 34 suzy2110
    October 17, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Keith, I also have to ask, having now looked at that link, why you thought of me when you looked at a cake iced like a fireman with his willie out.

    πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

