14
Oct
08

Not that you will have noticed…

I’ve just got back from hospital, where I’ve been since Saturday morning!

Unfortunately, despite feeling fine on Friday, my white blood cell count (hereon known as wbc) plummeted further, so I was feeling really cruddy when I got up on Saturday. I phoned the hospital and was admitted when it was found that I had a UTI and that my wbc had got dangerously low (1.4 for those of you who know what such things mean!! I think the normal range is 4.3 to 11.8).

It was my first experience of being on a dedicated oncology ward, and it was pretty humbling. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I was by a very long way the least worst off person there. Still, you know you’re in trouble when every room on the ward is a private one, and you get free tv… πŸ˜€ I sincerely hope I will not have to ever return there, though the staff were wonderful. It’s just that it made me realise to an extent how things could end up, and I really don’t want to concentrate on that right now. There were people there who were in so much pain, and with no conceivable hope of improvement in their condition,Β that it really, really made me wonder why euthenasia is still illegal for cases like that. Just my opinion, but it is a serious one. I feel for them.

So- three nights and many rounds of IV antibiotics later… I also had these charming injections to make my bone marrow produce more wbc’s. This resulted in aching bones, especially lower back, ribs and pelvis, and reminded my of the scene in Harry Potter where Gilderoy Lockhart accidentally removes the bones from Harry’s arm, and he then has to take medicine to make them grow back! πŸ™‚

I feel fine again and am relieved to be let home!

My next round of chemo is next Tuesday, and on Wednesday I will get an injection to try and prevent this from happening next time.

Also, my picc line was well and truly knackered, so I had the very special joy this afternoon of having it removed and a new one put in. πŸ™‚

Thanks to everyone for all your comments in my absence- I promise I will get to replying to them all, but the kids are about to get home and I need to get some stuff done before then!

Phew- good to be home and feeling fine! πŸ™‚

20 Responses to “Not that you will have noticed…”


  1. October 14, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I did notice that things seemed a bit quiet over here – bless you! Hope that you’re feeling better now, and here’s hoping that the next session of chemo won’t take it out of you quite as badly as the first did. xx

    I hope not, Jennie- they’re going to give me an injection to try and stop it happening. πŸ™‚ Glad you liked my scones, BTW!!

  2. October 14, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Not the way you’d envisioned spending the weekend, I imagine… BUt I’m glad you got it all sorted out and that they know what to do to keep this from happening again! And I hope the PICC line has learned its lesson, and will stay put for the duration.

    Glad you’re back! XOXO

    Yes, I can do without further such weekends!! I really hope the picc line will now behave, because it’s not the nicest procedure in the world!

  3. October 14, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Ugh! A cruddy story but with a somewhat positive ending (now and in the future, I hope!).

    Sure hope you’re feeling better soon.

    I am definitely on the mend! Thanks!

  4. 4 welshpurpletree
    October 14, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Not the best way to spend a weekend, glad you’re feeling a bit better and are back home. Take care.

    Thank you!!! I’ve been checking out your blog recently too, lol! That Jennie one has a lot to answer for! πŸ˜€

  5. October 14, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    I’m so glad you’re feeling better. I hope this next round it doesn’t get so bad.

    Thanks Lori- fingers crossed!

  6. 6 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 14, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Not noticed !!! Are you mad !! I’ve felt like a weirdo checking and checking your blog for an update. Suspected that white cell count had something to do with it but thought you were maybe in bed resting. Glad you’re home safe, have sent an email xxxx

    Aw, thanks Leigh!! Will go and read it now!

  7. 7 Ricky
    October 14, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    (Bear with me guys, Ricky saw the monsters and is insisting on being generated his own!! :D)

    He says-

    Hello everybody, my name is Ricky…

    ricky

    (oh great, my son knows how to TYPE his own name without help before he can write it…)

  8. 8 Ricky AGAIN
    October 14, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    OK, he didn’t like the last one because it has “no teeth or scary things”… sigh…

    Here goes (PLEEEEASE let it have teeth!!!)

  9. 9 Emma C
    October 14, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Hope your liitle monster is in bed! Your absense was noted and my mum has been asking after you. Glad you are home. Feel privileged to have been assigned a monster!

    Tell your Mum thank you very much and I am fine. Both the little monsters are in bed, as of two minutes ago. Your monster is very scary! πŸ˜€

  10. 10 Aidan
    October 14, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    Hi Suzy,

    I only heard today that you’d been in the hossie. Colin told me this afternoon but I’m glad you’re out n about again, I can’t imagine you were relishing being cooped up on top of feeling crap! The free TV was a bonus though, did you get to take it home πŸ™‚

    Gimme a shout if you’re going back into work some day and I’ll see if I can get over (if you’ll let me past the new security system!)

    Well, if you keep putting on dodgy accents, I will have to set the rottweilers on you. Who am I kidding, I AM the rottweiler. πŸ˜€

    Might get in to the office on Friday, will let you know! Hope the job is still going well!

  11. October 14, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    much love to you Suzy! I’ll be doing some really fabulous positive thinking, in hope to stave off this happening again to you. fingers crossed!

    Thank you Corey! I hope K’s cold is all better- loved those pics but never got to comment owing to the kids- will stop by tomorrow! xx

  12. October 14, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I was wondering where you were and hoping you were just off having fun or something, but noooooo you had to land yourself in the hospital! I hope you continue to feel better. I’ll be thinking of you lots.

    I adopted a Chemo Duckie for you. πŸ™‚

    I know, I saw, thank you so very much!! ((hugs)) I’m so sorry I didn’t reply to your email yet! I am trying to get back on top of everything! xxx

  13. October 14, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Loves and prayers sweetness! I’m glad you’re home! πŸ™‚

    Me too- thanks!

  14. 14 Bernadette McPolin
    October 14, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Suzy, of course your absence was noticed, and you were much missed.
    It’s really good to have you back talking to us again. I am sorry you had to go through all that but delighted to hear you are now feeling much better.
    much love and hugs – xx

    Hello to Ricky – doing very well there with the typing

    I know- he can’t write his own name too well yet, but apparently he can type it! πŸ˜€

  15. 15 katbur
    October 15, 2008 at 3:26 am

    Hopefully it will only take one admission for them to get the lovely count under control. That’s all it took for me. Here’s to oral antibiotics!! Enjoy your time with your kids.

    I hope it will be the same for me!! Kat, please can you post the link to your own blog next time you post? It isn’t linking here but I know you have one and would like to read it! πŸ™‚

  16. October 15, 2008 at 3:32 am

    That is funny about Ricky and the monsters. Those boys can be a very loving an stable thing to lean on for strength. For me, there is nothing like a great big hug from any of mine. They are amazing medicine!

    Take care of yourself and keep doing the things to make yourself stronger… both your body and mind.

    I got a wonderful hug from Robbie when he got home last night. There is nothing like it!

  17. 17 Sigh Cordelia
    October 15, 2008 at 6:39 am

    As mentioned, I’ll be ringing. Have been necessarily out of commission due to preparing for a big official inspection at work, and returning to the gym with a vengeance. Talk soon, love, so glad you’re feeling better x x

    Hope your inspection goes well! I want to meet up with you and Cin for dinner soon- although as we are now not welcome at both Drennan’s AND Beatrice Kennedy, we will have to discuss our options!! πŸ˜€

  18. October 15, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Has Ricky moved on from his ‘pink’ phase yet? Before you know it, he’ll have his own blog!
    Lots of hugs and glad to hear you’re staying on top of things – an inspiration to us all πŸ™‚

    He still likes pink, but isn’t obsessive-compulsing over it any more! πŸ˜€

  19. 19 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 15, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Tell Ricky Soph and I love his monster , she’ll be looking for one next!! My small daughter is missing your small son badly, definitely overdue for a meet up when you are feeling better xxxx In the meantime send both the boys a hug from both of us xxx

    If you stick in Stu’s email address and put Sophie’s name in, she can have a monster of her very own. I had to go through my work email address AND Ian’s before Ricky was happy! πŸ˜›

    Ricky is desparate to get caught up with you guys- we will have to arrange it very soon!

  20. 20 Skry
    October 17, 2008 at 1:10 am

    LOL At Ricky having his own blog soon: “Who needs dinner when you’ve got great sleep?!”
    LOVE that!!! πŸ˜€

    Heather’s got the best monster – a really angry glass of red wine πŸ˜€

    We have two Heathers here! I had not noticed that Heather McP had a wine glass style monster, lol!

    Sorry to hear that you were in hospital Sooz. Hope you feel better now, although I’m 5 posts behind so you may have covered that already!

    My internet Explorer has started to cache everything, so each day when I go on I get your blog from the last time I refreshed the screen. Will now have to go onto your blog and refresh the screen every day. Apologies if I end up being stuck behind again :-/

    It’s always nice to hear from you, m’love! xox


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

