10
Oct
08

Discouragement

Hmmm…a bit of a discouraging afternoon.

I went to the hospital for my “ten day check up” after my first round of FEC chemotherapy. Although the first week was very rough, especially last weekend, I’ve been feeling great since about Tuesday evening, and felt pretty optimistic going for my appointment today.

First setback- my PICC line wouldn’t work! I’m so pissed off! They flush it with water first and then draw bloods through it. The flush went in as usual, but nothing came back when they tried to draw the blood. They tried everything, but to no avail, so I had to get stuck with yet another needle for my blood sample. It’s very disappointing, bearing in mind the hassle of getting the bloody thing installed in the first place, and that it’s only been in for two weeks. 😦 They tell me that it happens sometimes, but I could tell from the nurse’s face that it doesn’t happen very often, and she said she hoped it was just a temporary thing, but again, she didn’t reeeallly look all that convinced! Worst case scenario, I will have to have the PICC replaced- ALREADY- which I am not too chuffed about.

I then waited for my blood results to come back. The nurse came back, and wanted to take my temperature. As I was feeling fine, I was really surprised when it came back well up. Without a trace of irony, my first response to this was “but I’m not sick!” which made even me laugh… πŸ˜›

Then, when my bloods came back, my white blood cell count was so low that they nearly admitted me. 😦 It’s very disappointing, given that I feel so well. I’ve been warned that I’ll probably get every bug under the sun. Ricky has chosen this moment to get a cough, and of course being three has no clue about covering his mouth when he coughs! πŸ™‚ I’m supposed to be giving him a wide berth- but COME ON!!! He’s my son, and our house isn’t big. Let’s live in the real world! If I get sick, I will deal with it.

So, I left the hospital in the pissing rain feeling decidedly fed up. The situation was compounded when I decided to stop at Tesco’s on the way home to get pizza for dinner (yes, and chocolate pudding too. It had been that kind of trip to the hospital). It was POURING with rain, but as I got parked right at the door I thought I’d make a run for it. I went on my hoop, skinning both my knees!

A devastatingly gorgeous man came running out of Tesco’s to my assistance, but even that couldn’t cheer me up and I don’t think I was very gracious… πŸ˜€

Am I Unlucky Alf, or what?!!!

8 Responses to “Discouragement”


  1. October 11, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Ooohhh!! You poor baby!! What a crappy day, indeed! I hope you’re getting some rest, enjoying your pizza and taking care of those boo-boos on your knees. I’m sending you big, big hugs.

    You can’t give a 3 year old a wide berth! That’s only a signal for him to want to be glued to your side constantly. Those little buggers become very needy when they think you’re trying to run away from ’em!

    I think the gorgeous man would have just made me feel worse at that point in my day. Hahaha!

    In all seriousness, please take it easy on yourself for a little while even though you’re feeling fine.

    Yeah, there’s nothing like a good looking man catching you at your worst advantage- I didn’t even bother getting dressed up today! Bloody typical!!! πŸ˜€ I had my pizza and should by now be in bed…

  2. 2 Jenny
    October 11, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Maybe you should get yourself one of those germ-free bubbles – but make sure it has a hatch for pizza and chocolate pudding, and a window so you can still see gorgeous men. Oh, and internet access of course. It could be quite comfy! πŸ™‚

    Seriously, I’m glad you didn’t have to stay in hospital, and hopefully your PICC will sort itself out and not need to be replaced. I’m sure you’re sick of needles already!

    Regrettably, with my lamentable flatulence issues, a bubble would be an unpleasant place to live! πŸ˜€ I am very sick of needles!!!

  3. 3 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 11, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    FFS, I’m pissed off with you. I’ll be keeping everything crossed that the PICC will sort itself out to save you having to go through that again. As for the blood counts , it could be an inital absolute plummet as it was your first lot , the other cause could be that your white cells were already depleted as you had that cold last week then they get hit by chemo too, in other words, you didnt get your first dose with your immune system in its optimum condition.
    So while its crap that your white cells are really low -as it makes you susceptible to everything going -just think of all the nasty little bugger cells suffering too xxx Loads of love coming your way xxxx

  4. 4 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 11, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    First phrase in my above post sounds like I am actually pissed off with you !!!! Of course what I meant was I am pissed off along with you at how things are have truned out this week !! Feel free to edit it out !!!

    I totally read it the way you meant it, you eejit!!! πŸ˜› xxx

  5. 5 katbur
    October 12, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Well I hope you at least got to eat your pizza and pudding. Hope the PICC come back to life. My port was my best friend during treatment. Has your doc talked to you about neutropenia? I had chemo, worked, sang a concert and everything was fine then suddenly I had chills that would not stop. Turned out to be neutropenia (no damn white cells) and in the hospital for several days. Hang in there, chemo won’t last forever!

    Kat, neutrophenia is EXACTLY what ended up happening, and it felt almost identical in me as for you. I also spent a few days in hospital. I am definitely hanging in there. This thing will not get the better of me!

  6. 6 Nichole
    October 13, 2008 at 5:11 am

    I’ll send Nolan over to give little Ricky lessons on covering his mouth, lol. Max is so afraid to cough without covering his mouth (even if his drink has gone down the wrong pipe) it’s kinda sad really. Nevermind, maybe I won’t send Nolan over….

    I hope you don’t pick up his bug 😦

    Hey Nichole!! Long time no hear from- miss you! I hope Nolan, Max and Zoe are all well! I don’t think I will get ricky’s bug now, luckily (touch wood)

  7. 7 Skry
    October 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Well they always say things come in three’s:
    1. Poor medical news
    2. Typical NI weather
    3. Skidding on your knees

    But look on the bright side, you got someone to add to Question 9 on your blog list πŸ˜‰ At least you weren’t running out with the pizza’s or you would have had Hawaiian all over you!

    Hopefully your PICC line and white blood cells will sort themselves out and you can get back to normal. Thinking of you,

    Skry x x x

    OK, too cryptic- what is question 9 on my blog list??

  8. October 14, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    That really stinks. I’m sorry you got some bad news, but I did see a Postsecret this weekend that made me think of you!

    Love it, TB!!! πŸ˜€ Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

