09
Oct
08

Scone Recipes- two kinds

I made both of these this evening. The cheese ones are going to be served with homemade vegetable broth later for Ian and my dinner, and the fruit ones are for the kids supper! πŸ™‚

Fruit Scones- makes 8-10

225g/8 oz self raising flour

55g/2 oz butter

55g/ 2 oz raisins or sultanas

25g/1 oz caster sugar

150ml or so milk

1. Preheat oven to 220C. Sift flour and sugar into a large bowl.

2. Rub in the butter until the consistency of breadcrumbs. Add fruit, and mix.Β Add enough milk to make a soft dough.

3. Tip out onto a well floured board. Knead briefly to combine.

4. Roll out to a thickness of about 3/4 inch- 1 inch. Cut out rounds with a scone cutter approx 5cm/2 1/2 inches in diameter. You can brush with milk or egg if you like- I never bother!

5. Bake for 10 minutes on a baking sheetΒ until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

Cheese scones- makes 8-10

225g/8 ozΒ self raising flour

55g/ 2 oz butter

55g/ 2 oz grated mature cheddar cheese

1 tsp salt

1 tsp mustard powder

Optional and really yummy- 25g/ 1 oz chopped nuts- hazelnuts and walnuts/pecans are really good

150ml or so milk

1. Preheat oven to 220C. Sift flour, salt and mustard powder into a large bowl.

2. Rub butter into mix until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. Mix in cheese and nuts if using.

3. Add enough milk to bind to a soft dough.

4. Tip mixture out onto well floured work surface and briefy knead to combine.

5. Roll out to a thickness of approx. 3/4-1 inch. Cut out scones with a scone cutter approx. 5cm/2 1/2 inches in diameter.

6. Again, brush the tops with milk if you like. I don’t bother. Bake on a baking sheet for 10 minutes or so until golden. Cool on a wire rack- these are GORGEOUS still warm.

Fruit on the left, cheese on the right. The story of my life, in so many ways. πŸ˜€

Photobucket

19 Responses to “Scone Recipes- two kinds”


  1. 1 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 9, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I must try the cheese recipe, they sound yummy, very ashamed to admit that I made cherry scones yesterday and every one of a large batch has been eaten !! I wouldnt have thought of cheese scones with veg soup but will definitely be trying it, its making me hungry !!

    I think subconsciously I might have read your update on facebook saying you were making those, and wanted some myself!!

  2. October 9, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I gotta say, cheese scones sound awesome right now.

    Where’s something edible? *searches desk drawers*

    Nothing worse than an empty cupboard!!! πŸ˜›

  3. October 9, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    YUM! I’ll have to try this one!

    Two minutes- they’re so quick!

  4. October 9, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    I’ve never had cheese scones before! They only have fruit or chocolate chip ones at the bakeries and coffee shops around here. I’m going to YOUR house! πŸ˜‰

    OK, when does the flight get in? πŸ˜€ You’re welcome any time!

  5. October 9, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Mmmmm, I love scones! I’ve made cheese scones a couple of times, and the last time I used a cheese called Mexicana – do they sell that near you? It’s a cheddar with chilli peppers in it, so it really gave the scones a good strong taste (but not TOO spicy!). I think I’ll have to make some at the weekend to tempt back my appetite πŸ™‚

    I LOVE Mexicana cheese, Jennie! That’s a great idea!

  6. 6 Bernadette McPolin
    October 9, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    The scones, especially the cheese ones look and sound really delicious Suzy. While I am not too bad a cook, I don’t think I am the greatest at baking, but I will definitely have a go at making them – thank you for including the recipe. I always make my own soup so will be looking forward to having the cheese scones with it.

    Firstly, Bernadette, everyone knows you’re an amazing cook, so knock it off with the modesty! πŸ˜€ I’m not a great baker either, and as you all know can’t make what we call in Europe biscuits (apparently those of us in the States think scones are biscuits, and I have created great confusion in the past!!) so I feel your pain!

  7. October 9, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    mmmmm I love scones. we just made some pumpkin ones the other day. I keep meaning to post about them.

    I’m going to work out how to make homemade pumpkin puree this year. We don’t really get canned pumpkin here, and I hate the waste which results from carving pumpkins. Once the art has been perfected, I will be hounding you for the recipe!!! πŸ˜€

  8. October 9, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    oh and add a bit of Dill to your cheese scones sometime. YUMMO!

    That’s a great idea! Sometimes I add some cumin. I love that cheese goes with pretty much everything!

  9. October 10, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I gotta say, I don’t think scones are biscuits. Biscuits are different than than the scones I’ve had but they are close, we usually just don’t usually have any kind of fruit or cheese cooked in them.

    Biscuit: http://blogs.miaminewtimes.com/riptide/biscuit.jpg

    However, YOUR biscuits sound like what we call cookies. Heeheee…

    It’s a veritable minefield of confusing terminology!!! πŸ˜€

  10. 10 Bernadette McPolin
    October 10, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I don’t know do they even have what we call scones in the States, they probably do but call them something else, and what we call biscuits they call cookies.
    As for being modest about cooking well just thought you should know that on more than one occasion I have put potatoes in the oven to bake and a week later remembered they were there. A kitchen diva such as yourself would not be impressed – unless of course you were on the lookout for very portable missiles

    In the house I grew up in, we had a range oven as well as the normal cooker, and it was mainly used for heating the house before we had central heating.

    After Christmas one year, my Dad put the carcass of the turkey in the oven compartment of the range for “safe keeping” (while he picked it…) πŸ˜€

    The carcass was discovered in March the following year, presumably after it tried to claw its own way out… πŸ˜€

  11. October 11, 2008 at 4:03 am

    They look lovely. We call them scones in Canada too. Wonderful hot with butter.

    Thank you! πŸ™‚ I was just looking at your own site- your cat Murphy looks a good bit like my cat Max!! πŸ˜€

  12. 12 Bernadette McPolin
    October 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Well it’s good to know I’m not the only one who has forgotten about food I’ve put in the oven.

    No, not by a long chalk!!! πŸ˜€

  13. 13 Bernadette McPolin
    October 11, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Suzy I made the cheese scones this morning, and before kneading the mixture I divided it and – a slight variation on a theme here – added a finely chopped saute ed onion (medium size) to one half, shaped them with the scone cutter then put the lot in the oven. One half cheese scones, the other cheese and onion scones. Delicious

    Have to fess up to something here, for the last couple of days I’ve been looking for a small cooking dish which I couldn’t find anywhere. When I opened the oven to put the scone in there was the dish, with two totally incinerated stuffed peppers in it. – think they’ve been there since middle of last week.
    I DID remember to take the scones out

    Mmmm….I like the onion idea and will try it! HOW can you forget about something as yummy as stuffed peppers?? πŸ˜€

  14. October 11, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    MMMMMMM – Scones…. LOVE them. πŸ˜€ I’m going to make these after I finish Laura’s pumpkin muffins. And so, my dear friends, you are doing NOTHING to hep me lose these last few pounds of baby weight!!!!!!

    Karen, if I felt confident of obtaining the ingredients for those muffins, I would SO make them myself and calories be damned! I hope you enjoyed!

  15. 15 Skry
    October 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    LOL Bernadette: “very portable missiles” πŸ˜€

    I have made the mistake of leaving things in the oven on more than one occasion. Then there was the night that Phil and I drank your video tape head cleaner!

    Suzy the scones look great. Am going to give the cheese ones a go and try Bernadettes idea of adding saute ed onions to it. Then again my problem is that I keep adding things to meals long after I should, so expect me to come back with a long (and possibly impractical) list of extra’s.

    Honey, new ideas are always welcome! πŸ™‚ You and Phil drank head cleaner??? That explains a LOT. πŸ˜›

  16. 16 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 14, 2008 at 10:00 am

    The cheeses scones are delicious , made them last night as I might as well be operating a scone factory anyway, also had them with vegetable soup last night, very yummy combination, great suggestion, thank you xxx ( small matter of interest and perhaps a nod that you should write a cook book – actually having roasted veg from your recipe tonight with salmon !!!)

    Positively blushing here…glad you liked them! πŸ™‚

  17. 17 peasepudding
    October 4, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Yum ,nice idea serving your savoury scones with vegetable broth!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

