07
Oct
08

Ughhh…

Warning- self serving pity party coming up…

Sorry I’ve not been around much the past few days. The chemo made me feel absolutely horrendous all weekend and yesterday- going on the computer made me feel seasick, I’ve had awful headaches and can’t stop barfing. I’m working from home today but am still not feeling brilliant. This is only the first round too, so I am pretty much dreading the rest of it. My hair hasn’t started falling out yet, will be next week or so.

THEN- in a bid to make me feel a bit better, we took the kids to the beach on Sunday afternoon to go for a walk. It was a nice day, mild enough that plenty of people were paddling, and it felt good to get out in the fresh air.

Ian was playing with Robbie at the water’s edge, you know, the game where you nearly let the waves come and then hoik them out of the way at the last minute? Well, Robbie dislocated his elbow! ohmy.gif We didn’t realise what had happened at first, but he was crying when we got back to the car and that is sooo not like him. Ian then noticed that he wasn’t moving his right arm. A simple trip to casualty and the dr popped it right back in, he was fine 30 seconds later. I hear it happens all the time- I just felt so bad for him! He’s absolutely fine now, poor wee love!

Lastly, I didn’t work yesterday because I didn’t feel well enough, and today I logged on to my computer to find that one of the directors, Aidan, has resigned. His wife Pamela is a regular reader here.

Aidan has been a really, really good friend to me for the past eight and a half years, and I’m so lucky to know him. I’m going to miss him a lot, and it is truly the end of an era. However, I know how it is to work somewhere and just not want to do it any more. To say that I wish him well in everything he wants to do is a massive understatement. He and his family deserve nothing but happiness.

So- feeling spectacularly sorry for myself today.

My wig did arrive, but owing to my skin having broken out in a delightful fashion and the fact that I couldn’t seem to get out of my PJ’s until about dinner time today, you will have to wait a day or two for photographic evidence!!!

10 Responses to “Ughhh…”


  1. October 7, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Kids sure are tough.

    You are entitled to a little “down” time while you se feeling like this. Your body has to be going through a lot right now. Any additional issues have really got to be multiplied now.

    It’s worrying me a bit how low I am feeling. They warned me that the drugs might do this. I plan on talking to them about it next time I am in (Friday). Hope your holiday is going well!

  2. October 7, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Oh sweet girl. I was wondering how you were feeling and hoping you were okay. I’m sorry to read that you’re having a rough time. I wish there was something I could do, but geography is not our friend, is it?

    My friend Cindy’s dad dislocated her shoulder playing the “fling the child over a puddle” game. Good thing kids are resilient otherwise they’d never live through their parents torture! Juuuust kidding. I’m glad Robbie is okay! 😉

    Thanks Heather! Yes, kids are amazingly resilient! Seriously, thirty seconds after it was popped back in, he was right as rain. He sang in the car on the way home!

  3. October 8, 2008 at 12:31 am

    I came over here to check on you yesterday and saw nothing so needless to say, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you. I hope it gets easier soon. Take care of yourself. Love always babe!

    Sorry for worrying you! ((hugs))

  4. 4 Lou
    October 8, 2008 at 7:42 am

    You’d have to be superhuman to not ever feel that way! Hopefully the next trip out with the boys won’t be so eventful. Take care x

    Thanks Lou- you’re probably right. Hope all is going well with you!

  5. 5 Jenny
    October 8, 2008 at 8:21 am

    Aw, you poor thing. Sounds like a tough week. I hope you feel better soon.

    When I was a kid, I was playing a game with my older cousin – he was a policeman, and I was a bad baby who had to be dragged off to jail. The dragging turned into a dislocated shoulder for me – ouch! It was really painful, but I think it popped straight back in by itself, so the doctor just put me in a sling for a while. No lasting damage done anyway, and I’m sure Robbie will be fine too!

    Sorry for laughing, but I LOVE the image of the bad baby being dragged off to jail- too funny! He didn’t even need a sling.

  6. 6 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 8, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Suzy, sorry to hear you’ve been feeling awful, I hope you’re feeling a little better today. Poor Robbie !! hope he’s back to his bouncy self xxx

    AHHH!!! Leigh, I meant to email you!!! ***heads off to facebook, feeling mortified***

    Robbie is just as bouncy as ever! 🙂

  7. 7 Pamela
    October 8, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Sorry you had to hear about Aidan’s departure by email. He really wanted to tell you face to face as I know he really enjoyed working with you over the years. No doubt he will still stay in regular contact and looks forward to seeing you back to your old self. Robbie was obviously just trying to take your mind of your own discomfort at the weekend. Glad to hear it was easily fixed though.

    You’d both BETTER stay in touch! 😛

    Robbie definitely succeeded if that was the plan- he’s definitely fine again though.

  8. October 8, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Love you! I’ve had a tummy bug for the last 24 hours and have been completely miserable with it, so I can fullysympathise with your worrying about going through this all again. I’m not even going to tell you to look forward to kicking Cancer’s butt, just take it a day at a time and eat exactly what you fancy (even if it seems bizarre, I always find it seems to work when you’ve been feeling sick!). Take care xxx

    At the moment, all I want to eat is cheese, crackers and fresh fruit, so I am definitely indulging! 😀 Sorry about your tummy bug!

  9. October 8, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    I think you’re inspiring the way you seem to keep a positive attitude even when you’re (physically) miserable.

    It sucks for a while, but it should get better!

    I still wanna see a hot pink wig. 😀

    Yeah, Stephanie from Lazy Town! 😀 I’m going to order one when I get paid. Ricky has been demanding it!

  10. 10 Skry
    October 13, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Oh yeah, now you want to eat crackers and cheese! You never want to eat that when I buy you them! Lousy pregnancies 😛

    I do hear that port goes well with crackers and cheese though…

    Glad to hear that Robbie’s arm is back to normal again. Did the doctor mention if Robbie will still be able to do the odd elbow drop if needs be? Hope he’s still able to take after The Rock and lay the smack down in his obvious future career as a wrestler 😀

    I feel sure that Robbie’s career path is not in jeopardy- however, the official family line is that he will be on Ireland’s second row come the six nations of 2028. 😛


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

