02
Oct
08

How I’m feeling

Just wanted to post quickly and let you know I am doing OK.

I was really, really sick on the evening after I had the chemo. I just couldn’t keep anything down, but it seems to have settled down mostly now.

I’ve actually not missed a full day of work since starting the chemo- I even worked the afternoon after I had my first dose.

Yesterday, I worked all day from home, which to be honest meant I didn’t get out of my jammies all day. Pamela, Aidan tells me you have similar fleecy ones which are your favourite- well, that was me yesterday, ha ha!

The guys in work have rigged it so that I can take my desk phone home with me, and via a network cable, I can answer the phone as if I am in the office. They’ve lent me a laptop too which means I can also work remotely. It’s worked fine so far.

I went back into the office today, and did fine, except for feeling like my brain was the consistency of stewed apple by the end of the day! I am totally exhausted this evening!

Still, it’s more fun working in the office. I miss the craic and the guys I work with when I’m at home.

So, to sum up, it’s early days, and there have been some bumps on the road, but it (so far) is do-able.

14 Responses to “How I’m feeling”


  1. October 2, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    I’m glad that you’re feeling better and that you have such supportive colleagues. When will the next session of chemo be?

    21st October- which happens to be my birthday- ah, cruel irony!!! πŸ˜€

  2. October 2, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    I’m glad it’s going as well as expected. You have such an amazing attitude. Thank you for keeping us all updated. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Noah- I am going to email you and ask you about your own experiences! I am sure I can learn a lot from you! xx

  3. October 2, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    It’s so good to hear that you’re doing so well, and that your colleagues are so supportive. I hope that you can continue to go on with life as normal for the foreseeable future! πŸ™‚

    My colleagues have been great, I am very lucky. I hope I can just get on with it, as much as possible!

  4. October 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Well, if you don’t mind, I’m going to keep checking in on you and worrying about you a little bit, okay?

    I’m glad you can work from home some days. I do know what you mean about missing the office though as crazy as it sounds. Sometimes just getting out and around others makes you feel a little better.

    Aw, thanks Heather! I added you to my blogroll- thank you for the honour of putting me on yours! πŸ˜€ Hope you’re feeling a bit better yourself. πŸ™‚

  5. October 2, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Glad to hear that so far you are really hanging in there. Thumbs up!

    Yes, OK so far! πŸ˜€

  6. October 3, 2008 at 2:21 am

    SO glad you are able to work from home so on days you need to be home to rest you can be. Take it easy and I’m glad that you’re doing okay. Loves always.

    Thanks Angela! xx

  7. 7 CinBin
    October 3, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Hi wee dotey, glad to hear you’re working away and making things as normal as possible – I think there’s a lot of wisdom in that.

    Really want to see you. The recent influx of photos makes me want a hug. And also to make you wee yourself a little bit (cos it’s not fair that Keith gets all the fun).

    Love, love, love xoxoxox

    Thanks love- will definitely try and get out with you guys at the end of the month! Miss you loads. Need some scandal in my life! πŸ˜€ xxx

    PS, wow, I can’t believe you commented!!!! After all this time, Jacinta! πŸ˜›

  8. 8 Sarah McBride
    October 3, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Hiya, glad things have settled after your first session – did you get the right lipstick and wear the dress that you didn’t quite fit?

    Seriously though, glad to hear you’re able to function even remotely near normal, and you know where we are if you need anything…

    Hey Sarah! Hope all is well with you guys. I did get a GREAT lipstick, and wore it, but the dress is too big around the bust, so I am sending it to Jen in NZ! πŸ™‚

  9. October 4, 2008 at 5:42 am

    I remember having my 6th birthday in hospital. I was in the kids ward and remember playing with our respective Snugglebumms* with a girl called Alison (mine was blue and hers was pink – naturally!)
    The nurses made a fuss and brought me a huge cake which was shared with the other children.

    Flash-back aside – glad to see you’re staying awesome and have some big weekend hugs from Sydney πŸ˜€

    Too funny! Sorry you had to have that b-day in hospital. I am enjoying reading about Oz- hope it’s going well for you and Lou. xx

    *http://www.ilovethe80s.com/toys_toys_snugglebumms.htm

  10. 10 Emma C
    October 5, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Fleecy jammies! Wot, no negligee! Woman dear!

    I know, I know- for shame… πŸ˜€

  11. 11 Pamela
    October 6, 2008 at 11:22 am

    You can’t beat a cosy pair of fleecy jammies! Aidan’s mum bought me mine for Christmas much to his disgust. Well you can’t really expect your mother-in-law to buy you sexy lingerie now can you? Glad you’re feeling OK and things are as normal as they can possibly be.

    LOL, Aidan said to me today “you dumped me in it with Pamela!” πŸ˜€ Who the hell wants see through black lace? Freeze your ass off in that!!! πŸ˜€

  12. 12 Aunt Rosalind
    October 7, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Dearest Suzy,
    I have been despairingly trying to get a comment submitted (only my second attempt in my life!). Wrote a long letter but somehow “lost” it.
    The Aunt

    It’s lovely to hear from you, but don’t feel like you have to write big long responses! πŸ™‚ I do still have email! I hope your trip goes well! xx

  13. 13 Skry
    October 7, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Glad to hear that you’re able to motor on through the bumpy times. 4×4 Suzy, like the Canyonero from The Simpsons! Hope that you’re able to keep doing so well, although it seems like you have enough support from people to be able to get anything done!

    I wish I could work from home. I’m covering someone this week from 7:30am to 3:30am. The only good side is that I miss the rush hours to and from work. I get home early, but that’s not a good thing as I have tons of DIY to do! Actually I’m kinda glad that I’m not working from home as staring at the DIY all day would depress me! That and I have no jammies, so I’d probably shock the neighbours getting the post in the morning…

    Good to see you online too Prof P – it’s annoying when you’ve written a lot of text and it gets lost, but keep trying. These sites are a great way of staying in touch with people. Hope everything’s going well for you πŸ™‚

    Hmmmm…. “unexplained fires are a matter for the courts”- how highly you think of me, my darling! πŸ˜›

    I am sure your colleagues would love the image of you sitting in the buff, telling them how to fix their IT problems!!!

  14. 14 Skry
    October 7, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    That should be 7:30am to 3:30pm. I’m not working a 20 hour shift with a 4 hour break before the next one. Though the overtime pay would be appealing…

    Yeah- nude and exhausted. An appealing combination!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

