25
Sep
08

The PICC line is in!

Well, it’s done! I am glad it’s over!

WARNING- the below is graphic, so stop reading NOW if you don’t want to know what happens!

MTAE, last time I posted about surgical procedures, you said it made your knees hurt. I do not wish to be responsible for causing pain to fellow bloggers! You are excused from duty!!! 😛

Getting the line put in was not a barrel of laughs. They don’t inject local anaesthetic into the area for some reason- just put a numbing cream on your arm for half an hour before the procedure, and it does NOTHING, as far as I can see!

They took me round to the x-ray department, got me up on a table and sterilised the area. Then, the nurse (a lovely girl called Sarah) found a suitable vein under ultrasound and made a small incision, then worked to get the needle into the vein. She then inserted a fine tube into the vein, which extends up the vein, past my shoulder and towards my heart to a length of 38cm. I couldn’t feel the tube going up and into position at all, but the actual process of getting into the vein in the first place was painful and unpleasant. My fingers kept involuntarily twitching which was weird too!

Once the procedure was over (about 20 minutes from start to finish), they x-rayed the area to make sure the tube was in the right position. It’s now all dressed and wrapped so it doesn’t catch on anything.

My arm is sore, and apparently my shoulder will get very sore later. It should settle over the next few days and apparently, I will then not even know it’s there.

There are a lot of good reasons for getting the PICC line put in. I was very anxious about getting it done, and yes, it hurt, but the nurse who did it was very skilled and slick at it, so I was in good hands.

Now the fun bit- chemo starting on Tuesday! I can hardly wait!

5 Responses to “The PICC line is in!”


  1. September 25, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Ugh. Sounds unpleasant, but I think getting the PICC line put in will save you a lot of needle sticks later on!

    Yup, that’s the plan! 😀

  2. 2 suzy2110
    September 25, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Update- it’s been 12 hrs, and my shoulder is still fine. I think it is settling well. See you tomorrow in work, blog stalking colleagues!!!! 😛

  3. 3 Skry
    September 26, 2008 at 4:49 am

    My God Suzy, you are now officially the bravest person I know!!

  4. 4 Skry
    September 26, 2008 at 5:02 am

    Damnit, now my fingers are starting to tingle, thinking about that procedure!

  5. September 26, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Those PICC lines are the best thing I swear! After having 3 of them when I was pg with Bryce, you really appreciate them as you’re getting your medications. I’m glad everything went well and am praying for continued success.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

