16
Sep
08

Two Interesting Experiences

I wanted to tell you about two separate experiences I had this weekend, whilst staying with my aunt in Coleraine. They’re totally unrelated, but both post-worthy, so I hope you will bear with this being rather random!

Silly Story-

I’ve already blogged about our fabulous dinner at 55 Degrees North in the coastal resort town of Portrush. I think I may have mentioned in my review, just once or twice, that there was an incredible view of the sea from the restaurant (!!) and, perhaps as a partial result of the red wine we were drinking, it…sort of drew us to us, shall we say! 🙂

We decided to go for a walk along the sea front below the restaurant after our meal. It was a lovely mild night, and below us was a short stretch of beach.

Before I knew it, my aunt was paddling in her expensive skirt suit, having kicked off her shoes. I stopped to remove my own boots and tights, hoiked up my dress a bit and followed suit! Before I knew it, we were practically wading in the water, jumping over the waves and shrieking like children! The water was probably colder than our meal and drinks would allow us to feel, but it felt wonderful, and it’s been a while since I had so much fun.

It seems really a bit irresponsible in hindsight- but I wouldn’t have swapped it for the world. Carrying on like a pair of lunatics in the dark on the beach, in nice clothes and I don’t care to think how many pounds worth of jewellery…. 😀 I’m sure anyone in the restaurant who happened to look down at the beach must have wondered if we were smoking crack or something! It was somehow very life-affirming though, despite the fact that we ended up getting a taxi home with soggy butts. 😀

Not-so Silly Story-

Well, depending on your viewpoint that is, and this story will probably polarise my friends!

I’m not a religious person. I don’t think-at all- that there is anything wrong with it, but it isn’t for me. I don’t believe that we die and “that’s it”, but I have a lot of trouble with some basics of the Bible and Christianity. I don’t really have concrete thoughts on what I believe in. I prefer to think of nature as my “higher being”.

In any case, I’m not going to go into all of that here! My own thoughts are not really lucid enough. Some of you have debated with me on other forums on this, and in person, and know more about where I am coming from.

That said- my current situation being as it is, I’m willing to accept help from wherever I can get it! So- and those of you who know me will probably be REALLY surprised and more than a little bemused by this- when I saw a faith healing stand in the middle of the square in Coleraine on Saturday morning, I hesitated. Initially, I wandered on, and did some shopping (my aunt was getting her hair done- mostly to remove the sea water from the night before, I suspect 😀 ) but on my way back to meet her, I found myself hesitate again. I had about twenty minutes to kill- what harm could it do?

As I stood there, feeling indecisive, a lady came to hand me a flier for the operation, and I decided I would explain the situation to her!

I’m sorry that I forget her name, and she and another lovely lady sat me down and talked to me for a while (in a very non-pressurised way, I might add) about my situation and how they hoped they could help.

They then had me close my eyes and they prayed over me. It was quite an experience. Their passion and devotion was very inspiring, and their kindness and care evident. I was, to my surprise, quite moved by the experience.

I’d say I was open minded to this kind of thing. If I’d thought they were Free Presbyterians, with their hard sell and harder stance on all of my “sins”, I would have given them a wide berth. However, there was none of that, and I was treated with warmth and compassion.

I don’t know if it works or not. However I’ll never discount anything, and think prayer is always a good thing, no matter whom it is directed at. I’ve checked out the website for the people who did it, and it looks like they do a lot of worthwhile things for their community. So, thank you to the Causeway Coast Vineyard for your kindness and generosity of spirit. If I wanted to do the religious thing, I’d pick a church like you guys.

4 Responses to “Two Interesting Experiences”


  1. September 16, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Wow, Suzy! Very cool. I looked them up just now too, and they look very similar to my church in focus, mission, and attitude. I’m so glad they treated you well and that it was a good experience for you. See, THAT is the true face of Christianity, IMO. 🙂

  2. September 16, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Actually, I think both of those stories have a lot in common.

    Religion (or whatever you call it) is an individual relationship/concept. Religious organizations have polarized the world into many different groups.

  3. September 16, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    this post made me smile….AND get teary. I love that you played in the ocean with your aunt. I LOVE THAT! beautiful livng.

    I am so glad that the folks were able to treat you with concern, and love and not be pushy of their religion. I am so happy that it was a good experience for you my friend.

  4. 4 Skry
    September 16, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Sounds like you had great fun with Professor P (I just realised that I got it wrong last time, again!!). I love doing silly things like that, as I’m sure you know very well.

    The faith healing thing is something that I do believe in. I don’t believe in God or anything like that, but I do believe in the power of the mind and the fact that you can do spectacular things with a positive attitude – mothers who lift cars off their kids and that kind of thing.

    Science can’t explain why some people fight to stay alive and live, when others in the same condition don’t have the same willpower and die. If it takes belief in a God, the love of a friend or family member or something like that to really get you beileving that you can do something then so be it – your odds of doing that thing are much more favourable.

    All I know is that if I see a mum lift a car off her kid and thank God for it, I’m not gonna tell her she’s wrong but I will think she’s an absolutely amazing person with the willpower of a superhuman (and the strength of one too!).


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

