15
Sep
08

Supermarket Woes

Supermarket shopping with the kids. Who EVER enjoys doing this?? Before I had children of my own, I was as bad as anyone else about sighing deeply every time someone’s little darling pitched a fit, was left in control of the trolley (my personal pet hate- THEY ARE TOO LITTLE to steer!!! Is it any wonder they crash?!!), or generally made a show. I gazed in horror as parents, white faced and thin lipped, tried to get their brats under control, whilst trying to keep their temper the same way. My own hands itched to smack the behinds of the mini-menaces who seemed deliberately out to wind me up (before anyone lambasts me for that statement, I do not condone spanking in any way, and do not spank my own children. I just didn’t know better.) and I used to give parents the evil eye if I thought they were failing to control their offspring.

Of course, now I have kids and I realise that going to the supermarket is no longer the kind of affair which can be organised at a moment’s notice, with nonchalance and ease. It must be planned with military precision, at least two hours (preferably, weeks) in advance.

I once read a very funny article which said you shouldn’t consider yourself ready for parenthood until you could successfully take two adult goats round a supermarket without them breaking anything or eating anything. This statement is, in hindsight, perfectly true.

So- you will understand my trepidation last Thursday when I realised, as one realises that a thunderstorm has just started to make its way over the horizon in your direction, that we would have to take a trip that evening to the supermarket. We live in a small village with few resources, and there were some things we needed that just couldn’t wait for the weekend.

The worst possible time that you can take two small children to the supermarket is on the way home from work/daycare. Everyone is tired, cranky, hungry and just a little bit insane. We should have known better.

Robbie goes in the front of the trolley, and was fine as long as I was within eyeshot. If I disappeared (Ian was pushing the trolley) he would screech as if he’s been stabbed with a hot poker. As soon as I reappeared, he’s start screaming “hiya, hiya, HIYA!” in my general direction.

The main reason that I might have disappeared from view was mainly because of Ricky. He picked up a carrot and took a bite out of it…he threw himself to the floor and refused to get up….he screamed “get your HANDS off me!” when, in desparation, he was being frog-marched from the premises…if you’ve ever witnessed bad behaviour in other people’s children in supermarkets, you can pretty much guarantee that he did it. Now, I love my son to distraction, but he’s just that age I guess! PLEASE let it be a phase!!

The real crunch came, though, after he’d been bundled back into the car and the shopping stuffed in the back.

I turned to Ian when we got in the front, and in exasperation, said “Well, THAT was fun!”, whereby Ricky pipes up, in highly indignant tones from the back seat, “Well, I didn’t enjoy myself!” 😀

5 Responses to “Supermarket Woes”


  1. September 15, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    oh my word….I’m sorry but this just killed me. sooooooooo funny! sorry for your pain. but…it is funny….only because I wasn’t there, though.

  2. 2 Jenny
    September 16, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Sounds like quite a stressful situation! I am one of those people who wants to wallop other people’s misbehaving kids too (or just lock them in a room somewhere far away from me), but I can still sympathise when I know the parents are actually doing their best and it just ain’t helping.

    Hopefully Ricky will grow out of that phase soon, and Robbie will stop freaking out every time you leave his line of sight. I’m sure it would help anyway 🙂

  3. 3 Skry
    September 16, 2008 at 2:27 am

    As my mum (who had two kids 14 months apart) used to say, when one of them grows out of something the other will grow into it! Then again, she also said that it was great as she got it all out of the way quite quickly.

    Hopefully you can find some way of keeping them under control, like giving them half a chocolate bar and telling them they can only have the other half after shopping if they’ve been good!!

  4. September 16, 2008 at 3:00 am

    Oh my goodness – Ricky cracks me up!! LOL

    Sorry about the rough outing, though. Those are so stressful!

  5. September 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    This is when 30-45 minutes got added to my daily schedule. I get a list somewhere between 3-5pm and the store location.

    If she is thinking far enough in advance, she will give me an envelope full of coupons to use also before I go to work.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

