10
Sep
08

Random bits of news

I’m finally starting to feel back to normal health wise since my surgery. Today is the first day that I haven’t been feeling completely wiped out at work, which can only be a good thing! My wound is a little slow to heal, and the arm is still pretty sore, so I have an appointment with my lovely cancer nurse Rosey on Monday so she can take a look.

I’ve seriously made a decision to make some very major lifestyle changes. Since my diagnosis, I have not been eating well and because of the surgery haven’t been able to be out and about as much as usual.

I got on my scales yesterday and nearly died! They practically asked me to sit down for the bad news before giving me the read out (or, more likely, wanted my fat ass off them!!). I knew I had put on some weight but was seriously horrified by how much it was.

I have all my adult life battled with my weight, but now I have an extremely big motivational factor to make me make this work. I have been doing some research, and I really would like to try and massively reduce the amount of processed food I eat, and try as hard as possible to eat raw vegetables as much as possible. My normal lunch for example nearly always involves a pre packed sandwich and a packet of crisps. This is NOT part of the cancer survival plan and it can no longer be a part of my life.

I’m certainly not saying I won’t ever eat a sandwich or crisps again- that would be totally unrealistic and I know myself well enough to know that it wouldn’t last, no matter how bad the cancer gets! I just want to try and have a better attitude towards food.

For lunch today, I had a small tub of cottage cheese, two carrots and a third of a cucumber cut into slices. MAN, I had forgotten how shitty cottage cheese is. I really do detest it and will not be bothering again. Carrots and cucumber are both on the list of foods that I’ve been reading about as being good for fighting cancer, and they tasted a lot better without the minging cottage cheese. Maybe I can come up with something else to dip them in. Homemade hummus or something like that. ๐Ÿ˜€

There are also some recipes for vegetable juice combinations that I want to try, which sound absolutely gross but at this stage I am willing to do anything to prolong my life, so if that means drinking something which mainly involves broccoli and beetroot, so be it!

I am taking the diet thing one day at a time. I am going to stay with my aunt on Friday night and don’t really plan to stick to it then. So, I am off the wagon already!! ๐Ÿ˜€

Other news-

Ricky started nursery school properly on Monday. He looks absolutely adorable in his wee uniform! So far, he is having a ball and loving the new school. It’s right next to his daycare, and some of his peers in his daycare class are going too, so he’s got some familiar faces there anyway. I took some pics and will post them later. They aren’t very good, because he’s not really a morning person and was exceedingly grumpy and not in the mood to be photographed! ๐Ÿ˜€

My chemo is due to start on 26th September. It’s good to finally have a date for it.

Can’t wait to see the nurse on Monday. Mainly, this is because I have not been allowed to wear deoderant since my surgery, and whilst I **hope** I haven’t been secretly nicknamed “Stinky Suzy” by my colleagues, I’m living in constant fear!!!! Also, I have no feeling in that underarm and have no clue how to cope with the fact that I now have one hairy armpit and one clean shaven. It’s horrific!!!!!

So, those are my random thoughts for today. Cottage cheese and stinky, hairy armpits. How glad you must be to have read it! ๐Ÿ˜€

7 Responses to “Random bits of news”


  1. September 10, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I’m sorry about the bad weight news! I hate that feeling. I’ve found that the only luck I ever have with new eating habits is by making small changes, one at a time. If I get two industrious and try to change everything at once, I just give up immediately! LOL Good luck with the new vegetable ventures. Oh, and I hate cottage cheese too! Ugh!

    Laura, that’s exactly what I am going to do- I do definitely need to lose a ton of weight, but I am not in a place at the moment where I feel like counting every single calorie, so I hope if I just try and make changes to what I am eating rather than anything else at the minute, it will at least help. Extra veggies can surely not be a bad thing!!

  2. 2 Helen
    September 10, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Hey Suzy, good luck with the eating thing. Perhaps you could make an appointment with a nutritionist? I will send you some Hummus. I sell spices and there is a jar of dried hummus that you just add the wet ingredients too as you need it. Very delicious! Did you get my email about the dairy thing and cancer too? Perhaps that would be something to look at as well? I think the lady that did that research is in the U.K. I just know you will do great with all of this, you are such a strong lady. ((hugs))

    Helen I didn’t get your email- I’ll send you my email address through facebook in case you used an old one. I’d be interested to read the thing! I never knew you sold spices!! Thanks for the offer re: the hummus, you’re so sweet! Hugs back, I miss you loads. xxx

  3. 3 Emma C
    September 10, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Suzy, have you heard about the pit rock natural deodorant? My sister uses it, maybe you could ask the nurse-or maybe you have already been advised against it too-just a thought.

    Emma, I haven’t heard of it, they just told me no deoderant at all until everything was fully healed up, which it isn’t. I will ask them though! Thanks for the suggestion!

  4. September 10, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    You can do it. BUt, just remember chemo may make you feel sick and you should eat ANYTHING that sounds good during that time. Gotta keep your strength up.

    I have tons of tips on the “dieting”. I did Body for Life and it was amazing. One thing is to make sure you’re eating your protein. THat’ll keep you feeling full. Cottage cheese is a “wonder food” bc it has such good things in it, but it tastes awful. BUt, if you’re using it for dip w/ veggies you can add a packet of ranch dressing mix. Makes it MUCH more bearable. You can actually make pancakes with it too that are really yummy. I could go on and on. Just let me know if you want more tips.

    I don’t know what ranch dressing mix is, but will see if I can get it in the supermarket. ANYTHING which can make cottage cheese taste good will get my vote, because I have heard too that it’s so good for you. Any tips you can give me would be gratefully appreciated! Is Body for Life a diet plan? I haven’t come across it before.

  5. 5 Jenny
    September 11, 2008 at 2:17 am

    I feel your pain, trying to eat a more healthy diet. Have you seen my blog recently? I posted a couple of times about bento lunches – they seem to be a fantastic way to fit in lots of fresh fruit and veggies into an office-friendly lunch, and you’ll certainly get lots of inspiration for different things to try. Have a look at http://lunchinabox.net or http://veganlunchbox.blogspot.com, to start with.

    Glad to hear that you now have a date to start chemo. I know it’s hardly something to look forward to, but you must be keen to get it out of the way.

    Jenny, I read your blog religiously because I am always so desparate for news of you and Skry, lol! You guys are great about reading mine too, it really helps me feel more in touch with you all. I have been reading about your bento lunches and they look great! I may just try them!

  6. September 11, 2008 at 3:49 am

    That is mix of good and bad news.

    I’ll pick the good part about your son having son familiar friends. That is really good for him and that stability is nice.

    As far as yourself, jsut hang in there for a little while and try to stay off of the scale and just work on eating better…unless the stuff is really yummy!

    Yeah, that’s the trouble!! All these websites and books I have are telling me I should go vegan, but I just can’t see me being able to do that. I don’t know if I can live in a world where there is no cheese. I guess everything in moderation! I’m going to simply try to up my intake of fresh fruit and veg and decrease the amount of meat I eat for now. We’ll see what the scales say in a few weeks and I will see how I am feeling during the chemo!

  7. 7 Skry
    September 12, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Yeah, go vegetarian Suzabelle!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Bummer about the weight thing, but you could always try the Emerfast diet – seemed to work for Eeemsey. She’s like a rake now, if rakes had crazy curly hair and talked as much as I do!

    Not sure about how to make cottage cheese taste nice, as I actually like it a lot, but I do think that getting a juicer might be good for you. Having a normal meal with a glass of carrot juice (which I can recommend) or some other kind of drink will give you extra vitamins and nutrients in a very tasty way.

    Jen’s Bento lunch idea is great and would be a good way of getting your kids to like healthy food a lot more too. Now is the kind of time that they would get a kick out of healthy food, so long as you shape it like a Transformer (or whatever kids watch these days). Just don’t show Ricky any pictures of Jen’s sparkly pink Bento Box or he’ll want some himself ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

