01
Sep
08

Results from my surgery

I had my meeting with the surgeon today to discuss the findings from examination of the tissue removed on 20th.

Well, they were happy enough with how I am healing and with my arm. They said too that they got everything out that they went in to get, so that’s all good news.

The cancer is grade 3, and was in 5 out of 17 of the lymph nodes they removed, so thank goodness I didn’t leave it any longer before I went to get this dealt with. It’s not responsive to herceptin or oestrogen, which is good because cancers that do respond are generally more agressive.

Grade 3 is not a very good grade, grade 4 is the worst, if I was older it would have been picked up much more quickly; such is life. 🙂

I will get chemo and radiotherapy and they’ll screen me again in 6 months to make sure there’s nothing else brewing… I don’t have a date for my chemo yet, they will be in touch soon but need to let me heal a bit first.

Will keep you posted!

4 Responses to “Results from my surgery”


  1. 1 Skry
    September 1, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Glad that everything is going this well and that the surgeon is happy with the op. You may well have picked it up sooner if you were older, but the younger you are the better you’ll respond to treatment so it’s swings and roundabouts really. The main thing is that you picked it up before it was major and that the op went well.

    You’re doing unbelievably at the moment and your positive attitude has been a real inspiration to everyone who knows you.

    Loads of love and hugs,

    Schnookums x x x

  2. 2 Jenny
    September 2, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Things are looking as good as they can be, so far – although it must have been a blow to find that they rated it at Grade 3. Thank God you did get things checked straight away – how many of us would have just ignored it in the hope that it went away?

    Keep your chin up, Suzy – you do have a great attitude, and that will really help you, but I’m sure you will feel low and scared and sick at times too. You don’t have to put a brave face on for us if you aren’t feeling like the most cheerful person in the world. Just pour it out here, good or bad, and you know your friends around the world are reading and rooting for you 🙂

  3. September 2, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    It sucks that it’s grade 3, but hopefully the news that it’s not more aggressive will compensate for that a bit.

    Hope you do well with the chemo/rad!

  4. 4 thecrazymommafiles
    September 14, 2008 at 11:11 am

    Suzy,

    I haven’t been able to stop by as much since the new school year has started and I’ve gone back to work. But I try to catch up when I can. I’m so glad to read that you are doing well. Although I don’t know much about you, I think of you often. The way you are taking this all in stride inspires me to get to living my life as fully as you live yours. I don’t have cancer, but your courageousness is inspiring all the same.

    Tina


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

