18
Aug
08

Hopefully- a proper plan of action!

I had my CT scan this morning, and thankfully it showed nothing new.

I asked to speak to my surgeon, which was readily granted, so we had a meeting with him today.

I will be having surgery on Wednesday. At this point, they will just be removing the affected tissue. The reason for this is that he wants to get the chemo going as soon as possible, and any complications from the reconstruction would delay it. So, for now, we are simply removing the two lumps on the right and the now-apparently-benign one on the left. We might go for a double mastectomy down the line once my treatment is complete.

With regards to the “false positive” on the benign lump, he says they misinterpreted the initial results and that they were all very upset about it- he showed me reports going back several years and apparently it has never happened in Northern Ireland before. In the whole of the UK last year, there were only 5 false positives. He says the consultant who analyses these things is considered to be the best in the UK and is beside himself. He has offered to meet me to discuss what went wrong, and I will probably take him up on that after the surgery.

I will only be in hospital for a couple of days, which is great news.

So- all systems go! This will probably be my last post until the weekend when I get home. Thanks again for everyone’s messages and positive thoughts. I am quite certain that they have contributed greatly to my ability to keep smiling through all of this! 😀

8 Responses to “Hopefully- a proper plan of action!”


  1. August 18, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Well, confusing news but I guess better news than expected! Good luck, Suzy, and we’ll be thinking about you!

  2. August 18, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Great news that it’s not in the other side! I hope your surgery and treatment goes well and is successful.

  3. 3 Skry
    August 18, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Brilliant – a plan of action! You must be so releived to just be getting on with it.

    The false positive is strange, but they do sound sincere. I guess so long as the person who made the mistake is willing to sit you down and talk you through it then it shows some sign of dignity and culpability. Hopefully, when he explains it to you, you’ll think “Oh I see…” rather than “I still think you’re a jerk!”

    Wishing you all the best with the op and a quick recovery. Looking forward to hearing from you soon, though if they find any diamonds I can understand that you’ll not be blogging for a spell while you move to your dream home in Conemara 😀

    Love and hugs,

    Skry x x x

  4. August 19, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Less cancer is gooder than more cancer.

  5. 5 Tina
    August 19, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    HUGS, mama! I will be thinking of you on Wednesday! In my thoughts and prayers

    Glad they gave you a false postive– less is better than more!

  6. 6 Marty
    August 20, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I’m told that Suzy is through her sugery successfully, and the surgeon is pleased with the outcome.

    -Marty

  7. 7 Skry
    August 21, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Sweet as! Hope she’s now half-way to kicking this to the kurb 🙂

  8. August 22, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Awesome update, Marty, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

