13
Aug
08

Core Biopsy with a Hangover

Ughhh…three of my best friends took me out for dinner last night, and we all got completely plastered. I had THE WORST hangover today, which did not help this morning at all! Serves me right! The hospital staff thought it was hilarious!!

Anyhow, I got the core biopsy done on two of the three lumps. There was no point in doing a biopsy on the third lump because it is a “spread”.

Bloody hell, it was much worse than I was expecting!! I don’t really know what I was expecting. A bigger needle than before, maybe.

What actually happens is that they inject local anaesthetic into the area, make a cut with a scalpel, and then “go in” with the great big massive needle. Once they have lined it up, with the lump via an ultrasound scan, it is “fired” like a gun into the tumour so that a core of cells is removed.

It was pretty traumatic, especially for Ian who turned green and had to go and put his head between his legs and have some water in the next room! πŸ˜€

I won’t get the results for several days. I was sent home and ordered to go to bed, which I was quite grateful about to be honest- I had been planning to go to work but my head was SORE!!!

My friends Emer, Jacinta and Heather and I went to a very swanky restaurant in Belfast called Beatrice Kennedy’s last night, and I am not altogether sure we’ll be welcome back there because we were a bit too rowdy for such a posh restaurant. The food was amazing as always. I am intensely regretting the brandies which finished us off…well they certainly finished me off!!!

Next up is my first appointment with the Oncologist on Friday. I have my CT scan next Monday.

8 Responses to “Core Biopsy with a Hangover”


  1. August 13, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    The alcohol should help sterilize the wound from the incision.

    Here’s hoping!!! πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Skry
    August 13, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Yeah BK’s is a great restaurant, although it doesn’t seem like the sort of place that you would ever have a rowdy night out in. Well, not their average clientele anyway! πŸ˜›

    Glad that you got the biopsy out of the way, even though it seemed to be more of an operation than anything else. Here’s hoping you get some good news on Monday.

    “Sorry Ms McElwaine, we were wrong about the lumps. Turns out they’re diamonds.”

    LOL- that would be good!! Unlikely though… πŸ˜€

  3. 3 Emer
    August 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I can but offer you this double Remy Martin by way of profuse apology! ;o) x

    Emer, I am never, EVER drinking brandy again!!!!!!!

  4. August 14, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Breast feeding is an incestuous relationship between mother and baby. Thanks to PLAYBOY, and other T and A magazines, the breast has been sexualized over the past half century. Mother’s milk should be pumped out into a bottle so that the infant does not become addicted to a mother’s “naughty nipple.” The child’s oral addiction can lead to later life smoking, drinking and even homosexuality. Consider that Monica Lewinsky’s four years of being breast fed led her addiction all the way to the White House! Breast feeding has become a bane on society, an open opportunity for mothers to expose their breasts in public, get off with their babies and then fake orgasm with spouses. For shame!

    So…this definitely goes down in history as the most bizarre, ill considered and downright laughable comment I have ever had on my blog. I actually had to approve it just so everyone else could have a good laugh too!!! What kind of complete idiot are you?? There is NO evidence whatsoever that any of what you’ve said is correct. Bloody hell, the fate of mankind has depended on women’s ability to breast feed. You would NOT EXIST if breast feeding hadn’t been possible. Seriously now- sod off and have a good long look at your miserable and pathetic life. I feel very sad for you that you feel this way about women. I wonder what has happened in your past to make you feel like this. I am extremely proud to have breast fed both of my children. Breast feeding has NOTHING to do with my cancer. My children are loving and nurtured. You clearly are not. Get lost.

    Edited to add- I see from your own blog that you include “pranking” as one of your interests, so I am guessing you think it’s funny to try and wind up a woman who has just found out she’s got cancer. Nice work, loser.

  5. August 14, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Those are really no fun. I had two of them done in 2001. Having them done with a hangover sounds even less fun.

    I hope your test results are as good as possible.

  6. 6 Jenny
    August 15, 2008 at 12:26 am

    I can’t believe you dared to be rowdy in BK’s! I bet they have barred their doors to you now – it is so not that sort of place πŸ˜›

    Sounds like you had fun anyway, even if the next day was less amusing all round.

    Oh, I saw this and thought of you. An appropriate message AND something to do if you find yourself hanging around hospitals for hours on end – might be worth a purchase! πŸ™‚
    http://www.subversivecrossstitch.com/kits/fuckcancer.html

  7. August 15, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    Love to you Suzy! and alan…I’m a bit confused as to how Monica got addicted to ummm MEN….because of breastfeeding? hmmmmmm could you explain it to me? LOL

    Great response suzy….I am sorry some folks are just plain inconsiderate. ARGH!

  8. 8 thecrazymommafiles
    August 16, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Sending positive thoughts and many prayers your way!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

