10
Aug
08

Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland

One of my very favourite drives is to go up the Antrim Coast Road. We probably only make this trip 3-4 times a year because it’s a little out of the way now that we live in Ballygowan.

It’s the longest stretch of coast-hugging road in the UK (I think) and features some spectacular scenery. Unfortunately I didn’t get all that many pics today because I somehow ended up doing all the driving!

The Glens of Antrim sweep down to the coast of Northern Ireland, and are mesmerising. You can also look across the Irish Sea and see Scotland- the Mull of Kintyre being strongly in evidence the whole way up.

 Photobucket

Photobucket

We stopped in Cushendall and went for a walk in the woods and played in the kiddies play area for a while.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Weirdly, we went to turn around and come home when we got to Cushendun, and bumped into Ricky’s best friend from his old daycare, Tom, and his parents! We stopped and let the kids play together for an hour or so, and it was lovely to get caught up. Phone numbers were exchanged and I will make a point of calling and arranging a play date as they were so pathetically pleased to see each other!

I love this drive. It makes me happy every single time. I wanted to see it again before my treatment starts, as it will probably be a while before I am well enough again.

2 Responses to “Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland”


  1. 1 Skry
    August 10, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    It sounds like you all had a good day out and, judging by Ian’s attire, it wasn’t too cold or wet either! Lucky weekend – ours was full of more snow on Saturday followed by a sunny and rather pleasent Sunday!

    You can never tell what the weather’s gonna do here, but as it’s coming towards the end of winter I’m hoping that’s the last of the snow. I have a large veggie patch to dig out and rain or frosty ground will not help this happen.

    Also I’ll be looking for some advice from you about what to plant now that you have such green fingers 😀

  2. August 11, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Wow, that’s gorgeous. I’ve never set foot outside the US, I’m ashamed to say. (Too perennially broke to venture to Europe or Asia like I’d love to do!)


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

