10
Aug
08

100th Blog Post- a little late…

I wrote this weeks ago…just shows you that a lot can change in not very much time. Thanks to everyone who has read my blog this far! It means a lot- you know who you are!!! πŸ™‚

Β 

I know it’s a tradition to post 100 things about yourself once you reach 100 blog posts. I have now reached that momentous day, so here you go!

1. I have two children, Ricky who is 3 1/2 and Robbie who is 14 months.
2. I breed ’em big- Robbie was my “9lb lightweight” πŸ˜€ whilst Ricky was a massive 10lb 14oz at birth.
3. Needless to say, I had two c-sections, to my eternal regret.
4. I am not going to be having any more children. Partly for medical reasons and partly because my family is complete.
5. I am left handed. Ricky is as well!
6. My thumbs are double jointed
7. I don’t have a favourite colour. I love red, purple and dark green.
8. I have a scar on my forehead that’s been there since I was about three- caused by a collission with the leg of the oak dining table my parents have whilst running away from grandparents!
9. I have other scars, including one from an operation to a finger. NEVER try and remove a stone from an avocado with a sharp knife. It does NOT work like it does on TV. πŸ˜€
10. I dislike loud noises, sirens or alarms intensely.
11. The thing I am worst at in the world is looking for things. Even if it’s RIGHT THERE- I still won’t find it.
12. I quite often find that I prefer the company of animals to the company of people.
13. I have two horses called Morning and Carly.
14. I have had some of the best moments of my life, literally, when riding Morning.
15. At age of 16, Morning and I were shortlisted for the Irish pony event team for the European Championships.
16. At age 12, I qualified for Young Judge of the Year at the Horse of the Year Show in Wembley, London. We got an all expenses paid three day trip, and Mum and I had the BEST time!
17. I cry at the drop of a hat, especially when watching films or documentaries.
18. I don’t see me ever living anywhere that is far away from the sea.
19. I have never had a filling in my life. My dentist says my teeth are still perfect! I have no idea how!
20. Men leaving the toilet seat up really doesn’t bother me. Why should they put it down? We don’t put it up for them!
21. I am very, very messy. My house looked like a pigsty even before there were children.
22. The untidyness bothers me quite a lot, especially if someone calls round unexpectedly.
23. I don’t own a cell phone. I had one that my brother donated to me, but it stopped holding its charge and I didn’t use it enough to want to replace it. I don’t miss it.
24. I have an almost pathological hatred of being late for ANYTHING. Anyone who makes me late will pay.
25. If Ian wasn’t a good timekeeper, we would not still be together.
26. I absolutely loathe being pregnant.
27. Some of my female friends have told me that they found me intimidating when they first met me. I don’t know how to address this and found it confusing and hurtful.
28. I can remember phone numbers and birthdays really easily, but apart from that, if it ain’t written down, it’s not in the brain.
29. As a young child, I preferred eating raw vegetables to eating sweets and crisps.
30. I don’t care that the climate in Ireland where I live is cold and not always sunny. If it was always hot and sunny, it wouldn’t look nearly so pretty!
31. Sometimes I go for a drive and deliberately get lost just to see where I end up.
32. I love to go wild camping (ie not to a campsite- just find a pretty spot in the back end of beyond- Glassilaun Beach in Connemara springs to mind!!) and can’t wait to take the kids, but not before they are both out of nappies!
33. I hate arguments and tension. However I will vociferously defend myself if necessary!
34. I swear far too much, and dislike it in myself.
35. I get angry with other drivers too easily.
36. I’d much rather go out for dinner than go to the pub. Another sign of my increasing age, I guess!
37. I much prefer men who are a little bit scruffy to preppy men in suits who shave every day!!! πŸ˜€
38. Bearing in mind I live with Ian, who is definitely scruffy and definitely doesn’t shave every day, but who is pretty much universally regarded by all the women I know as being rather yummy, this is quite a good thing.
39. I knew the first time I kissed Ian that he was “the one”. We’d been friends for many years before that.
40. I really, really love my job, and I’m pretty good at it. πŸ™‚
41. I will never, under any circumstances, go skydiving or do anything which involves jumping out of a plane or off a bridge, even if attached to something! Same goes for hang gliding etc.
42. I do however want to go whitewater rafting, go skiing, rock climbing etc before I die.
43. I absolutely LOVE riding cross country on a horse. I very much hope that I have not done it for the last time, but would need to be much fitter before I would consider it again!
44. I’m a good cook, and a prima donna in the kitchen.
45. I never have enough money!
46. I have too many pairs of shoes, but still want more.
47. I am hopelessly addicted to ebay.
48. I couldn’t use a computer until I was 18- showing my age again, that would never happen now!!!
49. Some of the people who I consider to be my closest friends, I have never met in person.
50. I really dislike “blingy” jewellry.
51. I am not anal about cleanliness, and think that if my kids can’t get mucky, it isn’t much of a life.
52. I normally wear my hair in a ponytail, mainly because the kids pull it if I don’t.
53. I like my eyes.
54. I don’t want bigger boobs. I do want a smaller ass.
55. I can run a short distance quite quickly, but can’t run for a long way.
56. I can swim for absolutely ages but very slowly!
57. Though I am educated beyond degree level, I have no patience with academia and don’t think I will do any more serious education, eg another degree. Maybe that will change in future, I don’t know.
58. I love to read, and wish I had more time to do it. Reading in bed is a huge luxury to me!
59. I sometimes suffer from feelings of paranoia and insecurity, even when I know they are unfounded and idiotic!
60. I am not a rebel, but wish I could be.
61. Sometimes I am too concerned about hurting other people’s feelings. Especially online. In real life, I am much more assertive.
62. As a child, I fell out of a tree onto a concrete path. I winded myself, and seriously thought I was going to die then and there! πŸ™‚
63. I have never broken a limb (touch wood!!!)
64. I am stupidly superstitious. If someone tells me a new superstition, I get annoyed because I then have to do it!
65. My Dad nicknames me “Gullible’s Travels” because I can sometimes be fooled easily!!! πŸ˜€
66. I have discovered that I can be wrong in my first impressions of people. One of my very best friends- I am not saying which one- I really, really did not like until I got to know them better. Now, I think they are absolutely the best.
67. I once got fired from a job I hated. I drove home with the windows down and singing along to Nina Simone on the radio. It was a very happy moment. Why the hell did I not just leave before then??
68. I am a very honest person and rarely tell a lie. On the occasions that I do, it has to be for a very good reason, and I am not good at it. I absolutely HATE being lied to or bullshitted.
69. I wish I could draw, but can’t at all. I did win an art prize in first form in school (age 12), I reckon mainly because I had coloured in every last inch of the sheet. My Mum hung the picture in our downstairs loo and resolutely refused to take it down until I was about 17, by which time many boyfriends had seen it and laughed at it!
70. I love looking in rock pools at the beach. As children, me and my brothers loved fishing the rock pools with little fishing nets. I hope my kids will enjoy it too!
71. I think people see me as a little bit eccentric. I couldn’t care less about that!
72. I’ve been colouring my hair since I was 14, and it’s been every colour of the rainbow! It’s only during pregnancy when I don’t dye my hair that I realise how grey I really am!
73. I wear glasses. I haven’t considered getting contacts because I would just lose them! You will notice that you never see me wearing glasses in pics- this is because of vanity, I whip them off just before a pic is taken!
74. I cannot paint my fingernails for love nor money. So I just don’t bother.
75. I have never had a piercing of any sort, not even my ears. I’ve never had a tattoo. I have no plans to ever have either. It just doesn’t interest me.
76. It’s real butter or nothing for me. Margarine and butter replacements are disgusting.
77. I am terrified of wasps. I also dislike bees, but that isn’t their fault. Wasps are just horrid. Trying to control this phobia for the sake of my sons, but it is not easy.
78. When I was two years old, I fell in a pond and nearly drowned.
79. I crashed a scrambler motorbike when I was 14, wearing no helmet and a pair of shorts and a t-shirt. It hurt, but luckily I walked away. These days, I ask where the brakes are. D’oh!
80. My pain threshold is not the best.

I wrote this before my cancer diagnosis, and now that I HAVE that diagnosis, obviously life has changed for ever.

I don’t think I should change any of what I have written above just because of what’s happened in the last few weeks, as that’s the person I was and still am.

Likewise, I know it’s only 80 things, but it will have to do for now. I don’t feel very well qualified to add to it at the moment. Maybe later! πŸ˜€

This is my 112th blog post. Not my 100th! Thanks for reading!!

8 Responses to “100th Blog Post- a little late…”


  1. August 11, 2008 at 4:47 am

    You can be forgiven for being late and short on your number of items.

    I had you pegged as right handed and you seem a little accident prone.

    I have never done anything like this. I don’t “draft posts” and this would take a while to put together. Coming up with a hundred things about me would just put me in a bad mood.

  2. August 11, 2008 at 7:02 am

    I love these posts…so many little facts. πŸ™‚ hugs to you my friend!

  3. 3 thecrazymommafiles
    August 11, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Enjoyed your list. We have quite a few things in common.
    #17 – me too, I cried on the Brother Bear – the cartoon – ok…
    #20 – in total agreement
    #23 – me neither…one less bill to pay
    #27 – WOW!! My close friends from high school and I got together not long ago and we were talking about HS. They told me the same thing, well intimidating may not have been the word, and I can’t remember exactly what it was, but they were saying that I didn’t care about anything or anyone but myself and basically they learned to live with it. I was hurt because I’ve always been one to put other’s feelings before my own. I don’t even know what I could have done to make them feel that way. Anyway, back to the list…
    #33 – ditto
    #34 – ditto! ditto!
    63, 64, 73 – Me too…
    ok…that’s enough…

  4. August 11, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Well, happy 112th then, b’gawd!

  5. 5 Emma C
    August 11, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Suzy, I really enjoy your blog, keep it up!

  6. August 11, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    I didn’t know you were left handed! Me too! And I didn’t know you wore glasses!

  7. 7 Skry
    August 11, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    > I don’t want bigger boobs. I do want a
    > smaller ass.

    Snap! And as for “I am not a rebel, but wish I could be”, don’t you remember dragging your family out the back garden to “see the aliens”? Or the scrambler story above with no protective gear on? “I want to go whitewater rafting, go skiing, rock climbing etc”. You’re more of a rebel than you think πŸ˜‰

    Maybe you were a rebel without a cause, but now you’re not a rebel with a cause. Don’t know if that balances out or not, but I love you either way.

    I have some suggestions too:

    81. I always invite people round for dinner, spend the entire day (and usually the day before) cooking, then tell guests “Now I haven’t had much time, so apologies if this is crap”. Then I proceed to feed people great food that is really tasty, all the time still apologising. Maybe I should face facts – Gordon Ramsay would want to eat with me!
    82. I hate people spelling my name Suzi with an “i”.
    83. I don’t like Black Metal/Death Metal music, and I’ve had plenty of chances to start liking it.
    84. I love loads of animals and even used to be a vegetarian.

    Maybe a few other people could help you get towards 100, or maybe even 112…?

  8. August 12, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Your stability is so inspiring Suzy! The last comment about being who you were and who you will always be is touching!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

