09
Aug
08

Adventures in Biscuit Making, Part 1

I got so many fabulous recipes to try in response to my plaintive thread of last week!

I decided to try Emma G’s recipe for oat and raisin cookies, Emma C’s recipe for double chocolate cookies, and Ricky’s recipe for caramel squares.

Emma C, I am so sorry, I ran out of energy before I started making yours but I have the ingredients all ready to go and next minute I get, will be making them!

I made the oat and raisin cookies first. Emma G, I am a complete idiot and didn’t plan first. When I went to make them, I realised they were in the American “cups” format, which for some reason I cannot get my head round. I don’t have a set of “cups” and therefore run into trouble every time when it’s not a standard grams or ounces recipe. How pathetic!

Anyhow, I must have made a balls up somewhere, because although they look lovely, I made seriously enough to feed the five thousand, and the quantities were DEFINITELY off. I needed to add two more eggs and some water to get a consistency which would work, and they aren’t crunchy like they are meant to be. What did do wrong?! All the biscuits I ever make are the same. I want to make some biscuits which will snap in two!!

Photobucket

Anyhow, they taste fine although I wanted crunchy. I must have got the quantities wrong. 😀

Then, I made Ricky’s caramel square recipe. Not my son Ricky, but a friend! It causes great confusion at times!!

Oh dear GARD!!!! They are to die for. The recipe worked so, so well and was absolutely delicious. Regrettably, they are not really biscuits, but I can tell you I will be making those again!

Photobucket

So can you tell I am a bad photographer at the best of times, but even worse at food photography!! I just wanted to prove that I did do it! 😀

More updates to come as I get more cooking done! Thanks to everyone for their delicious recipes!

6 Responses to “Adventures in Biscuit Making, Part 1”


  1. August 9, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I’m slightly hungover from a soiree at Keith and Jenny’s last night (damn you home brew!) and the sight of these caramel squares is making me ravenous!!

    Looking forward to part 2….(and possibly pictures in between with chocolate all over Ricky’s face!!) 😀

  2. August 10, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Those squares look really messy!

  3. August 10, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    ooooooo yummy! I need to send you a recipe….but I first need to type it up. sigh……need more time.

  4. 4 emma
    August 10, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    hi suzy
    yes – it was indeed feed the five thousand quantities when i made it too. i actually used teacups because i don’t have any measuring cups….in fact, until your blog i hadn’t even thought about using actual measuring cups…..sorry they didn’t work so well! hope you’re ok and had a good day with your menfolk. xx

  5. 5 Skry
    August 10, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    They both look like successful recipies, even if one didn’t snap and the other isn’t technically a biscuit. The point is that they were both tasty (Rok’s caramel ones look fab, if a bit calorific!).

    If you want something that’ll snap you could always go for a DIY Kit Kat. Speaking of which you may be interested in this site:

    http://www.pimpthatsnack.com/project.php?projectID=240

    Make that and I’ll crown you the Queen of Kat’s!!

  6. August 12, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Hmm, I’m wondering if it’s because most biscuits (cookies) here in the states are supposed to be soft and chewy? There are a few kinds that are crisp, but most of them are chewy.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

