08
Aug
08

The plan of action for my treatment

I had my meeting with the surgeon this morning.

He’s decided that the best thing to do is to give me the chemo first- six rounds of three weeks, starting in a couple of weeks time.

The reason for that is that the cancer had spread to the lymph node and he wants to “zap” any stray cells which might have escaped around my body.

I need to get a larger biopsy done on the lymph node cancer next Wenesday morning. They want to bank some of the cells in case the chemo kills everything in the tumour before they take the cancer away, because then there wouldn’t be anything to analyse after!

I’ll also be getting a full body CT scan next week at some stage (they’ll confirm later) to make sure it isn’t anywhere else. He seemed hopeful that it should be OK but wants to check lungs, liver and bones in particular because they are the most likely places for this to spread to.

After the chemo, I will have a double mastectomy and reconstruction. Ian and I both agreed that we felt most comfortable (if that’s the term) with that option, and the surgeon said that he felt it was the best plan of action. A no-brainer, really. 🙂

I feel fine about it all and am glad to have a clear plan of action now. Plus, I get a free tummy tuck and a nice pert rack into the bargain! 😀

11 Responses to “The plan of action for my treatment”


  1. August 8, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    I’m glad you know where you’re going now/ your plan of action. Sometimes the “unkown” is more scary than the known.

    And yeah, those full body scans are fun. Lay still for an hour or two as you slooooooooooowly go through a machine! I think I always fell asleep. But it’s very good they are doing it to double check. And ask if you can see the scan when it’s done if you’re interested. It’s kind of fun to see all the bone sin your body as a complete skeleton!

    *hugs*

  2. August 8, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Good luck with your treatments Suzy! We’ll be sending prayers your way ((hugs))

  3. 3 Skry
    August 8, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    CT Scans are fun – definitely try to check your scan after you get it cause it’s really interesting seeing yourself from the inside out.

    I’m glad that you have a plan of action now and can focus on that. It helps make the whole thing easier as there are less unknowns.

    Sounds like you’re getting the full 6 Million Dollar Man treatment too. “We have the technology. We can rebuild her. Thinner, more pert, sexier than before.” I wonder when you’re hurrying around the house after the kids if you’ll get one of those cool slow-motion running scenes complete with sound effects 😛

  4. August 9, 2008 at 3:54 am

    I guess this is where you put on your gloves and get to work. Knock the shit out of this bastard!

  5. August 9, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Suzy, the best of everything to you; it seems your attitude will carry you through almost anything. Let me add my prayers for you to the mountain of good wishes coming your way.

    I just put up my new post finishing about 4:00 this am in my city, but I was learning how to get a video on my blog – used VodPod and I am pleased. When I received the info yesterday from a doctor I respected I immediately set about to get it online. It is about cancer and a most unusual cure. I have no idea if it could be of any use to you – that is a decision for you alone to make. God bless you.
    Jan at
    http:smokinchoices.wordpress.com

  6. August 9, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Good luck, Sweetheart!
    We’re going through it too, and we know how it is…
    Surround yourself with good people, and then kick its butt!
    And congrats on the new tummy and rack! Everybody needs a tune-up, now and then. My wife says that’s the “premium part” of the program that she’s looking forward to, most!
    We’ll be praying for you and Ian! Double-time!

  7. August 9, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Suzy sweetheart,the best of everything to you.I’m glad that you have a plan of action.God bless you.

  8. August 9, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Good luck to you on your medical treatment. And congratulations on your fantastic attitude. I’m sure it will carry you through.

  9. 9 Susan Roach
    August 10, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    SO glad you have a clear course of action, now it’s on to kicking this cancer’s ass!!

    Lots of prayers mama!!

  10. August 11, 2008 at 4:24 am

    That sounds like an excellent plan of action. And, how jealous am I going to be of your new gravity-defying rack?

  11. August 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I agree with the others, I think it’s daunting to look at that tough road ahead, but still better when you have a plan rather than being stuck at “what next?”

    Kick some cancer ass!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

