06
Aug
08

Wigs- an excuse to shop!

So, obviously I am going to be having chemo in a few weeks and it’s very likely that my hair will all be leaving town.

My hair’s a mess, it won’t be any great loss. In fact, in the past I have (in hindsight, extremely stupidly) joked that I could shave it all off and start again- talk about letting irony bite you in the ass! 😀

Still, I need to start thinking about what I am going to do. I’ll probably get the hair chopped before I get the chemo, as the thought of standing in the shower with big handfuls of hair is not appealing. I’ve read all kinds of people say that they found it very liberating shaving all their hair off, as if in defiance to the cancer. I’m feeling a little dubious that I can share their enthusiasm, but will try my hardest! 🙂

My friend Jenny mailed me just after she heard my news, in a typically straightforward and brisk way for which I was grateful! She’s a big recreational wig wearer, and in a wonderfully practical way suggested a forum which I could go to for a crash course in all things wiggy. I’ve joined there now and am trying to find my way around, but it’s a terrific resource and I am really grateful, especially as I have never had to work with wigs before. I at least know now how to size myself for a wig and already know more about what I should be looking for!

I’ve been thinking that I should try and make the best of this by having a bit of fun with wigs! I can change my ‘do every day if I like (or as much as funds will allow!!) and it will give me an excellent excuse to spend time and money on ebay, which is after all one of my favourite pastimes. Wigs can be the new dress!

I’m sure my work will be delighted as well that I won’t be coming in looking like I’ve been dragged through a hedge backwards! For goodness sake, the engineers practically comment that I look nice if I’ve made it to work without a piece of toast stuck to my shoulder by one of the kids and if I have managed to apply lipstick!

With regards to style of wig, the only suggestions I have so far come from my three year old son, who thinks I should get a pink bob, like Stephanie in Lazy Town (a children’s show which frankly leaves me cold, but which both my kids adore), and I might buy a cheap one to make him laugh!

At least I am not a man. Most men, when faced with wig buying shopping trips, seem unable to choose with any taste whatsoever. Why do men think that jet black and that weird shade of marmalade will look in the least bit natural???

8 Responses to “Wigs- an excuse to shop!”


  1. August 6, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    oh Suzy…..your wording always gives me a smile. I love the “drug backwards thru a hedge” comment. tee hee

    I can’t wait to see some fun new hairstyle on you! 🙂

  2. August 6, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    See, this is one of the reasons that I love and am amazed by you – your attitude about this cheers ME up! 🙂

    But yes, this could be a fun experiment! Go blonde for awhile, try out some different lengths, and heck – try the pink thing to humor Ricky! You’ll be beautiful regardless!

  3. 3 Skry
    August 6, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Men can’t choose wigs? Jet black? Weird marmalade colour? I think you’ll find that when Jenny threw her Wigs & Wine party that my selection was perfectly adequate:

    http://nitonz.blogspot.com/2007/09/wigs-and-wine-party.html

    Ahh yes, the mullet… business up front and party out back! Although your brother’s blonde wig and pimp hat was a little off-centre 😛

    Best of luck with the wigs Sooz. Guaranteed that you will be wearing them years after the chemo. It’s not unusual for me to find Jenny in a different wig almost every day of the week.

    Oddly enough, because I left work before her this morning I’m not sure what she’ll be wearing today! When people in work ask “Is your wife the blonde from Ireland?” I usually answer “Possibly” or “Maybe today, yeah” 😀

    Can’t wait to see you in a pink sparkly wig too. Make sure you get one for Ricky too – that’d be adorable!

    So, I am quite scared by the last picture, which is of my youngest brother….he likes dressing up as a woman a little too much, doesn’t he Keith?! 😀 Good thinking on buying two pink wigs. I am going to do that.

  4. 4 katbur
    August 6, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Take a look at my blog, if you like the wig it’s yours!

    katbur, I would indeed look at your blog except that you didn’t leave a link. 🙂 Get back in touch!

  5. 5 Jenny
    August 7, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I’m really glad to hear that you joined that Wig Support forum. The people there are wonderful and really support each other – and indulge those like me who are just joining in for fun, without making me feel like I don’t belong there.

    As you know, I love wearing wigs, and I rarely have the same hairstyle for a full week these days. Today I have a very short dark style which is earning me lots of compliments, but tomorrow it might be waist length tumbling curls, or a blonde bob, or maybe I’ll just go for straight and shoulder length auburn locks. It is fantastic to have such a choice and not have to put any effort into making my hair look good. Hopefully you will find the same thing 

    By the way, I buy all my wigs these days from http://www.wigs.md – a very good value American source of high quality wigs, that does cheap international shipping. I started out on eBay, but got one too many disasters, since I just didn’t know what to look out for and what to avoid. eBay is great for the fun wigs that are meant to look fake, but not so great for ones that are meant to pass as real hair. If you’d like an opinion on anything you’re considering getting, feel free to mail me!

  6. August 7, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Lou shaved my head one time…..accidentally!

    I used a #4 on my head and asked her to tidy up the back informing her that I had removed the attachment and to be careful.

    About 10 seconds later I heard a sound and felt the shaver run right up the back if my head.

    Truth be told I threw a bit of a wobbler and Lou blurted out “I can fix it!” which (in hind-sight) is one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard.

  7. 7 Sara
    August 7, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    You know if it would help, I’d cut my hair off right now and send it to you so you could have a wig made…but it’s not long enough…my friend’s hair is, though…what do you think about going red? lol

    And the thought of you and Ricky sporting pick Stephanie bobs is just too funny! Remember, laughter is the best medicine so keep up the laughing.

    [hugs]

  8. August 7, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Heres your chance to go curly! XOXO, you will be gorgeous!!!!!! Pink bob or not!

    Ha ha, naturally my hair is curly- GHD’s are a girl’s best friend!!! I will definitely be looking into different colours etc though, might as well have some kind of fun through all of this! Miss you! xx


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

