01
Aug
08

Today’s updates

This morning, I had a chest x-ray, mammogram and MRI scan at the hospital.

I had been more anxious about the mammogram, believe it or not, than about the MRI (that’s the one where they put you in the big long tube!!), because I’d heard it could be a little painful, but actually everything was fine. The MRI- which I know a lot of people find very stressful because it’s so claustrophobic, didn’t bother me in the slightest and as it was very long (about half an hour) and the noise of it was so monotonous, I actually got sleepy!

Anyhow- the dr who looked at the MRI (he’s called Dr Majury and I think he’s fantastic) saw something on the other boob, so I got shipped back into the radiography department so he could do an ultrasound on it. He did find another lump on my left boob, and they have drawn some cells from it, but he said it did not bear any of the hallmarks of cancer, as the lumps on the other side did, and he was fairly sure that it wasn’t something I needed to worry about. I won’t get the results until the middle of next week, but feel reassured and not too stressed about that.

Apart from that, they only detected the two tumours that we already knew about. There is one in my breast and it has spread to the sentinel lymph node (I think that’s what he called it, I am so clueless about all of this!) which is the main filter for the area. However he told me that there was no evidence at the moment that it had gone any further, as he reckons if it had the other lymph nodes would also have been affected. Some of you medical types out there can let me know if that sounds right!! He said they’d probably want to do a CT scan at some point to look at the main areas of vulnerability, like liver etc. just to be sure.

Chest x-ray and mammograms were clear.

My surgeon, Mr Kennedy, just phoned me there as we had arranged, but didn’t really have anything to add, so it was mainly a positive day.

My next appointment is with Mr Kennedy on 11th August, but I feel OK for now psychologically and at least have a slightly better picture of where I am going with this.

Thanks again for the kind words and encouragement. It is giving me a lot of strength!

11 Responses to “Today’s updates”


  1. August 1, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Sounds like as good of a prognosis as you can expect! One lymph node really is not a huge deal. I’m sure they’ll remove that along with a few around it to make sure they have a clear margin. If it spreads to a bunch of lymph nodes and other areas of the body, then that’s when you start worrying. Sounds like you caught it good and early.

    MRIs always put me to sleep too!

  2. 2 layla2376
    August 1, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Thank goodness, definitely positive news . Robert Kennedy is kindness itself and absolutely one of the most patient centred and focused surgeons I have ever met. Glad to hear you are attending him xx Love Leigh xx

  3. 3 Jen
    August 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Aw sweetie that is good news that they are optomistic about everything and that the other breast doesn’t have the cells. Let me know how things are and if you ever need to talk give me a call. We love you so much!

  4. 4 emma
    August 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    they’ll have it all whipped out in no time and that will be that. thinking of you heaps. much love xx e

  5. 5 layla2376
    August 1, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Sorry Suzy, I should also have confirmed for you that the sentinel node theory is right. Basically excess fluid will drain from your breasts via the lymph nodes in your armpits , the sentinel node is the first node that any cells travelling in lyphatic fluid will reach. It is absolutely positive news if only the sentinel node has cells in it, it means it is unlikely to have spread beyond your armpit. Usually they would perform an axillary node clearance where they remove the lymph nodes in your armpit, some surgeons are electing to use radiotherapy to destroy them. Working in surgery I would be more familiar with the ANC option, I can find out what the research is . Hope I havent given too much jargon, I just wanted to confirm this is positive news, Leigh xxx

  6. August 1, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Suzy, I am keeping you in my thoughts and rooting for you. My mom beat breast cancer and I have faith that you will too.

  7. August 1, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    I think waiting for information has to be tough…Ten days between visits would be hard to stomach.

  8. 8 suzy2110
    August 1, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    MTAE- ten days IS a long time, but it kind of gives me a break from this, if you know what I mean. I am not feeling unwell in any way, so it will give me a few days off from the stress of wondering what will be said that day and what tests done…if that makes any sense at all. Thanks for your email this morning, it SERIOUSLY made my day! 😀

    Leigh, thank you so much for everything, and I am so glad to hear you think Mr Kennedy is good. Would he know you if I mentioned your name, or would you prefer I didn’t?

    Noah- it’s great to have someone to talk to who has been through this herself. I will be no doubt hounding you in the months to come if you don’t mind! 🙂

    Thanks to EVERYONE!!!

  9. August 1, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    That’s good news Suzy – have a fantastic weekend 😀

  10. 10 Jenny
    August 2, 2008 at 2:01 am

    That news seems really positive. I am so relieved to hear that it doesn’t seem to have spread. I know things will still be tough for you, but hopefully you know the worst now!

  11. 11 Skry
    August 4, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Great to hear that news Suzy. Lucky you’re getting Mr Kennedy as your surgeon too. I don’t know how good he is at that, but at his moonlighting job as a wrestler he’s ace:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mr_Kennedy

    Last week he beats The Undertaker, this week he helps you beat cancer!

    I know what you mean re the MRI scan too. After my jet boat accident here I had to get one. It kinda reminded me of the Stargate film. I was waiting for it to suddenly open a portal to a different workd or alternate reality and suck me in!

    All the best,

    Schnookums


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

