27
Jul
08

Garlic Tiger Prawn Recipe

I’ve literally just finished eating this, and wished I’d made twice the amount (greedy cow!!)

Serves 1-2

100g raw tiger prawns, I used shell off but you could leave the shells on if you wished
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped (mine was organic and fresh from the garden)
1 spring onion/scallion, finely chopped (ditto the above)
1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley (and NO, dried will NOT do- if ever there was a waste of a good thing, it is dried parsley!!)
1/2 red bird’s eye chilli (according to taste)
1 tbsp butter
1 tsp olive oil to prevent butter from catching
1 wedge lemon
salt & pepper

1. Melt butter and oil in non stick or heavy based pan
2. Add scallion, garlic and chilli- cook on low heat for 3 minutes or so and then raise temperature.
3. Add prawns and cook over high heat for 1-2 minutes. Turn prawns, then cook for a further minute until pink on all sides. Do not overcook or the result will be rubbery.
4. Add parsley and squeeze lemon over. Stir thoroughly. Remove from heat and season.

I ate this with freshly steamed potatoes and mange tout from our garden, but you could easily add a tbsp of creme fraiche and serve it over tagliatelle for a quick but delicious meal. :-)

4 Responses to “Garlic Tiger Prawn Recipe”


  1. 1 Skry
    July 30, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I remember the good old days when you were a vegetarian! I’m trying to think of a way to make this veggie-friendly, but I think that’s like trying to find a substitute for a steak or fish and chips…

    I completely agree with you on the parsley though. Why do so many restaurants give you a place with dried herbs and paprika sprinkled around the plate…?

    And don’t ask why I want to know this – being a veggie I will *never* eat this meal! But is there a specific type of parsley to use, like flat-leaf, or can you use any type? Is there a difference? I’ll be growing my own soon, so with time I can answer this question myself, but if one type is better than the rest I’ll be growing that type. Apparently flat leaf has a stronger taste, according to Wiki:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parsley

  2. 2 suzy2110
    July 30, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Keith, I actually prefer curled leaf parsley, but that is a non foodie thing to say!! Everyone else prefers flat leaf. It just makes me think of coriander- which for some reason I can’t abide. :-D

  3. 3 Dav
    July 27, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Curly Parsley has a more earthy flavour and due to it’s shape, is ideal for soups and sauces as it holds the flavours in the leaf. I prefer it to flatleaf any day, flatleaf would be more for fresh salads in my opinion.

  4. 4 lui
    August 2, 2009 at 3:25 am

    hello suzy, i stumbled on your webpage looking for a tiger prawn recipe but i started reading some of your blog and i am happy that you are moving forward with your life rather than wait for results. coincidentally, i’ve quite a few people in my life that are undergoing the same situation with a life threatening illness. the one that’s really on the verge is the one i feel the most sadness for because he’s become a mega *sshole and he’s not expected to making it past 1 year according to dr.’s he’s seen. real sad and he’s my cousin. on the other hand, three other people i’m close to are doing great and i have some of the most meaningful and insightful conversations with…. i think it’s remarkable because even though one may be able to anticipate a particular event, like cancer some or other terminal illness, no one can predict an unexpected event. life is precious and i think people who feel closer to life are the ones who are cradling it dearly.

    all the best!

    an interesting read for you: “the brain that changes itself” norman doidge, m.d. I found the first chapter very impressive.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 80,231 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

