25
Jul
08

Things to do before I die

Something happened recently- I am not going into it here- which has made me assess my own mortality. I’ve realised that there is so much stuff out there that I still want to do!

So, with this in mind, here is my list of things to do before I die. I will definitely need to add to it I expect!

1. See more of the world. I particularly want to visit more of the States (and do some visiting whilst there!), New Zealand, both to visit my friends there and to tour around, and the Himalayas. I also want to tour the Alps and see more of France, which I absolutely adore.
2. Have the money and time to take a very leisurely tour of Ireland, staying wherever I like and going as slowly as I like! If one day when I am retired, I can take a month or even more and do this, I will definitely be going!
3. Climb some mountains!
4. Eat a meal in some of the world’s top restaurants- Ian, you are invited! 😀
5. Take more boat trips off the coast. NOT a cruise, I mean see more of the coast from the sea rather than from the land.
6. Take a camping trip with Ian and the boys.
7. Go whitewater rafting
8. See- and identify- more birds of prey.
9. Visit more of the islands off the coast of Ireland.
10. Take a photography course.
11. See my sons as happy, healthy, independent and productive adults
12. Ride a horse across country again
13. Fit into size 10 clothes again (that’s a 6 for those of you in the States!!)
14. Look really well groomed, just once! 😀
15. Spend more time in the Scottish highlands and islands
16. Visit the National Portrait Gallery in London
17. Lie on my back on a beach in mid August in a remote location with no streetlight glare and watch the shooting stars, as I did one perfect summer’s night with some friends in 1994.
18. Get feckin’ MARRIED!!!!! I know he’s not reading this… **rolls eyes**
19. Have a perfect Calvin Klein-ad moment on the beach with Ian and I walking along hand in hand, smiling dreamily, whilst the kids run on ahead, playing and yelling excitedly to each other. Will almost certainly never happen, lmao! The kids in reality will be either trying to murder each other or run into the sea…
20. Make biscuits that turn out really well- I am a good cook, but biscuit making is a skill that I can’t seem to master!
21. Have a house that is completely “finished”, as well as being tidy. Again, an impossibility.
22. Have two dogs. Will not happen until I retire, it’s not fair to leave a dog alone all day.
23. I’d love to say go to a music festival, but really I am too old!!!!
24. Learn why it is that Ian doesn’t like the way I make coffee.

Well, that’s enough to be getting on with! 😀 I will be adding to it for sure!

6 Responses to “Things to do before I die”


  1. July 25, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    What a great list! Can’t wait to watch you start crossing those off as they are accomplished! *hugs*

  2. July 25, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    That’s a great list! I’d like to do some of those things too!

  3. July 25, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Forget the Calvin Klein moment! At least for another 15 years…

    🙂

  4. 4 suzy2110
    July 25, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Whoops, I initially said that a UK 10 is a US 14 but it’s the other way on the scale, a US 6 is a UK 10!! I am not the whale that some of you must now be imagining!!!!!

  5. July 26, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    I bet you can tick off a few of these this summer!

    23. Music Festival – OK, you missed Oxegen but get the girlies and head out for the night (combining this with 14!):
    http://www.myspace.com/omgwtfDISCO

    20. Biscuits – Get the boys involved (could be asking for trouble but I fondly remember cooking/baking with Mum when I was knee-high to a grasshopper!)

    17 & 3 & 6- Combine this and go to the Mournes.

    10. http://www.belfastexposed.org/ Check out the training sessions and get booked! There’s on in August.

    8 – Surely your Dad can and would love to help here and get the kids involved too.

    I wanna see 3 of these knocked off that list by the end of the summer Suzy!! :))

  6. 6 Skry
    July 30, 2008 at 12:57 am

    You’re more than welcome in New Zealand. We’ll need a gardener soon!

    I think your bro may be coming over. Is he good with vegetables? I hear he works with them on a daily basis… 😛


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

