28
Jun
08

He slept through the night!!

OK, so for most of you with thirteen month old sons, this is not a big deal, but in our house, this is cause to open a bottle of champagne and do a happy dance around the living room!

I think I might have been going in to him too quickly in the night. I have been leaving it a minute or two and then going in. However, in desparation I have decided to not go in unless he’s really crying, not at the “letting out a few sqauks” stage. I don’t approve of crying it out, though I respect people who do it, just can’t do it myself. However, there comes a point when you have to say- ENOUGH!

I don’t think for one minute that my children’s sleep issues have been their faults. I am perfectly aware that we made huge, great big massive mistakes with Ricky- we let him have milk at night and that caused SO many problems. With Robbie, we’ve only let him have water at night for a long time now, but it didn’t make any difference.

SO- we’ll keep going with this approach for now and see if we have more success. I really dislike the sleepless nights. My kids are wonderful and I love them so much, but it is hard to keep your cool in the middle of the night and not take it personally. Sometimes I feel like saying “WHY won’t you let me sleep?!” which isn’t fair to him. This is definitely a situation which I have brought about myself. I just wish I knew what it was that I have been doing which has caused it!

5 Responses to “He slept through the night!!”


  1. June 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    You know, what I’ve read from real infant sleep experts that study sleep in a lab setting (i.e. not Ferber, more like Dr. McKenna), it’s perfectly normal for kids to not be developmentally ready to sleep through the night on their own until around age three! I really do believe that with some kids it doesn’t matter wha tyou do, they will wake up. You can choose to ignore that they are waking (i.e. CIO) and they will still wake up, they just won’t make noise because they know you’re not coming. Of course, you can encourage them to wake more by going in too soon and actually “waking” them when they would have gone back to sleep on their own as well. I have a hard time figuring out when that is with Lorinc too!

    Noah, that’s very interesting, especially as I know how keen you are on AP! I think sometimes I am so keen on “being there” for them when they need me, that I might be being there a little too much! Thanks for your help!

  2. 2 Laura
    June 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Hooray for a good night’s sleep!! That does wonders for your sanity, I know!

  3. June 28, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Not only are each of us different, but so are the kids. We try to limit the late naps. If they haven’t collapsed by 2pm, they are staying awake until bedtime.

    We really never had a system other than when they were first born and it kind of continued. My wife, since she exclusively nursed all of them, gets all of the credit.

    Yeah, I breastfed Robbie until he was 10 months, and we’ve had him on water at night since then. Ian isn’t the best at getting up at night, so the trade off is that I do the night times, and at weekends he gets up with them and lets me lie in. It works for us! He isn’t much of a napper, and normally just has one nap in the morning, though today he slept from 1-3pm so I am sure it will NOT be good tonight! 🙂 Thanks for the moral support!

  4. June 28, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    woo hoo….for Robbie! 🙂 and YOU! I do hope it works. I can’t imagine how hard it is to be getting so little sleep! hugs my friend!

    I know that all children come to semi awake states in the night several times. It is at that time it is important that your child knows how to settle themselves back to sleep. A lovey helps for this. It gives them a sense of security, and they cuddle, or rub the lovely to soothe themselves back down.
    I encouraged a lovey by talking it up, and making sure it was with us for nursings, and snuggling before bedtime. I used a blanket, and I would rub it on her face as she was falling asleep. Soon she was holding it and rubbing her face herself. 🙂

    Corey, you said to me once before about a lovey, but I assumed you meant a stuffed toy…whoops! Good idea, I might have something which may work… 🙂

  5. 5 Calvin
    June 29, 2008 at 2:54 am

    I remember the phase you are in at the moment. The good news is that this is a phase. There are full nights of sleep in your future!

    I used to love napping with the kids when they were little. I do miss that!


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

