27
Jun
08

I need to grow a set!!

I love ebay. I think I may have a growing addiction issue, actually. I buy and sell and it gives me a lot of pleasure, which is kind of pathetic!

While most of the time, I am really pleased with what I buy, I do find sometimes that I am really disappointed with my purchases.

A few weeks back, I bought a gorgeous Fenn Wright Manson dress which was listed as new. When it came, it was really lovely (though too big, so am going to have to sell it on) but showed signs of washing and was most definitely not new. I’d never have paid anything like as much for it if I’d known that.

Did I complain? No. And now I find myself fuming with my lack of assertiveness.

Yesterday, I received some boy’s clothes in the post. It was a bundle of three shirts and two t-shirts. The shirts are OK, but the t-shirts were absolutely filthy, they are now in the bin. I was disgusted!

Once again, though, I am finding it really hard to complain!! What is WRONG with me! Those of you who know me off net will tell you that I am a fairly assertive person and am not known for holding back when I have something to say, so why does that not seem to apply on ebay?

I wonder if I create a separate buying and selling account, if that would make me leave more honest feedback. I wonder if my subconscious reasoning is that I sell on that account too, so want all my feedback to look good. I know sellers can no longer leave negative feedback, but they can still leave a negative comment!

Why should it even matter??? I have issues, clearly!

5 Responses to “I need to grow a set!!”


  1. June 27, 2008 at 11:11 am

    You hit the nail in the head with wanting all your feedback to look good – I think it’s one of those things I would invariably suck up too.
    They have a soley New Zealand thing similar to ebay called Trade Me which I have but 3 feedbacks (which are all positive) from things I have bought/sold and I know I trust more people with positive results and get nervous about those with bad feedback.
    Anywho, it’s better to be assertive in real life than online so chin up Suzy and have a great weekend 🙂

  2. June 27, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Have your ebay rules changed? In the states, buyers can longer get negative feedback. That way you are able to be truthful in your feedback. Can you write in the feedback that the clothes were indeed NOT new, but still give them positive?

    I know as a buyer, if someone has negative as a buyer, it doesn’t effect my willingness to buy from them.

    I hope you are able to figure things out!! It sucks when you can’t trust what you buying anymore!

    Kimi, yes, it’s the same here. I actually think it’s a bad rule! I guess buying on ebay is always a bit of a risk- I just love some of the great bargains I can get there though!

  3. June 27, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Like Kimi said, here you can’t get negative feedback as a buyer so you have nothing to lose complaining. And I would, because hopefully you’ll stop that seller from doing the same thing to another. You should also be able to file a complaint with ebay and get your money back.

  4. June 27, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Try to comment in an e-mail to the seller. Maybe they will resolve the issue or give your some money back. I know what you mean about leaving feeback though. But, one time I got something completely different than I ordered and the seller cut off communication, so I did leave bad feedback.

  5. June 27, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    UGH….yes…it is awfully hard to be honest when it comes to feedback, when you are worried about retaliation. sigh……

    I hope you figure something out.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

