16
Jun
08

Life’s too short to open a jar!

In desparation this evening, I did something I’ve never done before and bought a jar of sauce to add to mince, to serve with pasta. Time was desparately short, and I mistakenly thought it would be a shortcut!

I won’t name the brand, because I don’t want any lawsuits on my hands, ha ha, but it was the work of a well known middle aged man with a silly name and an even sillier anglo-american accent. You get the idea, I hope! ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyhow, I am deeply unimpressed with the results. By the time you cook the mince, you might as well have chopped the onion and garlic anyway, so time wise it was a wash out- except that I was VERY late home, courtesy of George Bush’s visit to Belfast today (roads closed everywhere!!) and needed to feed the kids quickly without simmering something for hours.

Why the illustrious designer of this sauce thought it would be a good idea to put diced carrot in the sauce is beyond me. I had to add tomato puree too because it was so watery. The effect has not been pleasing. It is now in the bin.

In all, I will NEVER be repeating this gross tactical error. I’d rather the kids had to wait a little longer than ever serve this crap again! YUCK!!!!!

I cannot understand how so many jars get sold when it’s so easy to make your own stuff. Forgive me as well, my dear American friends (and please don’t take offence, ’cause I love you girlies and guys!!), but I can’t fathom opening a can of mushroom soup, pouring it over chicken breasts and cooking it, and thinking that’s a delicious dinner. I’d rather cook! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to “Life’s too short to open a jar!”


  1. June 18, 2008 at 6:02 am

    You’ll be pleased to note that I’m making lasagna tonight with my own white sauce!

    I’m sure this will set off your recollection of a previous faux-pas on said sauce… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks Phil, I will never live that one down!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Hope the lasagne turns out well!

  2. June 20, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Haha! Your mushroom soup and chicken idea sounds great, I think I’ll make that tonight! LOL!

    You are so right, our version of “cooking” is much different than yours. BUT..I don’t think I could stomach a lot of the foods that you enjoy!

    LOL, fair point, Jules…enjoy your…um…food! ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

