15
May
08

Pink Sandals

My three year old son, Ricky, is desparately in need of new sandals, and with finances being as they are at present, I am trying to save some money by buying them on Ebay.

I found some gorgeous little Timberland ones which are made out of wetsuit material, so they dry off very fast if he goes in the sea or even a puddle with them on! I wasted no time in making a bid.

Big mistake.

Ricky is regrettably the kind of child who must authorise all clothing purchases before you can proceed. Otherwise, he is as likely to decide he doesn’t like the article of clothing and will get quite annoyed! He is something of a Prima Donna. That’s just who he is, and normally I can get round the hissy fits easily enough by simply involving him when I am shopping for him. It’s actually fun to go clothes shopping with him because he takes such an interest. As I am never going to have a daughter, it’s good that he cares in a way, ha ha!

HOWEVER- he doesn’t like the sandals. At all. He wants pink. Every time we have the conversation, it results in a meltdown when he is told he will most likely be getting blue sandals. He even went to my Ebay page and pointed out a reddy pink pair of sandals further down the page! Unfortunately they weren’t the right size!

I am now torn between hysterical laughter and irritation at the situation. He kind of needs to learn that he can’t always get his way in life. I am certainly not one of those mothers who gives in to their little darling’s every last whim! He is not a spoiled child by any means- just has very clear ideas on what he likes and what he doesn’t!

If I get outbid on those shoes, I will have to rethink. I found a pair of red spiderman sandals on Amazon which might meet with more approval. Sigh.

Is pink still considered acceptable for men to wear? I know it was fashionable fairly recently. Those of you who know me in the outside world will confirm that fashion is not very high on my list of priorities in life! 😀

6 Responses to “Pink Sandals”


  1. May 15, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Oh yes, pink is totally in!!!! I wonder if he has many clothes that will match the sandals though? You could buy him a pink shirt to match! 🙂 As long as it’s a macho shirt, ya know?

    I am so fashion brain dead though. I have no concept of what looks good together, so don’t take my word for it!

    Spiderman shoes sound fun though!

  2. May 15, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Oh Suzy…I know that has to be somewhat frustrating as the Mama, but it is soooooo cute to read about! 🙂 I think Ricky could look quite fashionable in pink shoes, but maybe those Spiderman ones could be a good compromise too.

  3. May 15, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I think he could make quite a fashion statement! While I do think that they need to learn that they can’t always get what they want, sometimes it is just easier to give in. Especially on the little things. I can’t wait to hear what he ends up getting!

  4. May 16, 2008 at 5:22 am

    If you get the shoes, let him wear them – if he is mocked by other 3 year olds – if that is even possible(!) – he may revert to a more gender-stereotypical viewpoint and demand blue shoes next time!

    In hindsight, shoes for me didn’t last very long when I was a child. In fact, I think my record was literally about 20 seconds after I bent them forward and they tore along the seam! Another time was using my shoes as brakes and wearing them through in less than a day. Mum was NOT impressed!

    Anyway, if the shoe fits…that’s all that matters.

  5. 5 Leigh
    May 19, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Suzi, perhaps he’s just leaps ahead in the fashion stakes and is already on to the next trend !!
    My small daughter spends a part of each day dressed as a Mexican handy man ( she is Handy Manny mad !), complete with a tool belt and trucker cap, now I don’t think for one minute that she is going to grow up and end up being a handy man, although ….she is quite handy with a screwdriver….

  6. 6 Jenny
    May 20, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Saw on Facebook that you caved and bought him pink – let us know if anybody comments! I think on little kids it shouldn’t matter anyway. Well, on ANYONE it shouldn’t matter anyway, but three year olds surely don’t care enough about this stuff to give him a hard time…


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

