29
Apr
08

Lunch at Yoko Bistro in Coleraine

Whilst staying with my Aunt last Saturday, she took me out for lunch to Yoko’s Bistro in Coleraine. We had lunch there before around Christmas time and it was lovely, so I was delighted to be going back!

Set somewhat incongruously well away from the town centre, in the middle of an industrial estate, and sandwiched between a McDonald’s and a Pizza Hut, you could be forgiven for giving it a wide berth! However as soon as you cross the door, you realise that this is a lovely, modern restaurant, well fitted and attractive on the inside. There is a strong Japanese flavour to the decor, with a lot of dark wood and lighted panels giving a cool, modern feel.

Having been seated, we had to spend a while going through the massive menu! The choices are very broad, mostly with strong asian themes but with some European dishes. There are plenty of noodle options- this is becoming so fashionable these days, my aunt had a noodle bowl the last time we were there and it looked lovely!

I opted for the thai prawn cakes for my starter, whilst my Aunt had sesame prawn toast. We shared these and they were both lovely. The prawn cakes came with a delicious sweet chili sauce and were really special.

For my main course I chose sizzling king prawn with lemon grass and chilli. My aunt opted for duck with a cherry and plum brandy sauce. Both were delicious- my Aunt isn’t a big eater so I think I probably had more of hers than she did- for shaaame! My Aunt had ordered a side dish of garlic chips and these were rather undercooked, which is the only criticism I can level at the food! Everything was very plentiful and delicious, and delivered in a timely manner.

Service was good, very unobtrusive. The place was pretty busy for a Saturday lunchtime in such an out of the way location, and I understand that it’s jumping in the evenings! The people of Coleraine have been without this kind of place for too long- for a university town there are amazingly few decent places to eat- and it looks like they are all enjoying it a lot!

One funny thing- they had a sign pinned to the front door saying that they were training up a new chef and to complain if the food wasn’t good- bloody hell, guys, give the new person a chance!!! I’d be feeling pretty offended if I was the new chef! Who appears from my experience to be pretty good! 😀

0 Responses to “Lunch at Yoko Bistro in Coleraine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

