20
Apr
08

I’m a big loser!

According to my three year old son, that is.

Ricky has recently become obsessed with being the winner, insofar as he perceives it! This includes all aspects of life as well- eating, walking to the car, everything! Yesterday I got him a couple of pieces of buttered bread for a snack and made the same for myself. I then made the gross tactical error of finishing eating before he did. This, to my utter amazement, resulted in him having a complete meltdown because he hadn’t won! In the end I got myself another slice of bread and ate it slowly while he finished so he could win- how ridiculous is that?!

Oh and going to the car yesterday- he ran on ahead and got there first, and then said “I am the winner! Yay!!” which made me smile, except that he followed that up with “and you are a BIG loser, Mummy!”

Reminds me of the time when I was out with my friend Keith somewhere and he jokingly accused me of being a loser. I had had a few drinks, and was hysterically laughing, and then tried to do the loser sign on my forehead- except being left handed I got it round the wrong way, resulting in all those around me collapsing with laughter and me confirming Keith’s point quite well! ๐Ÿ˜€

Maybe he’s right!

Either way, this ultra competitiveness had better be a phase or affirmative action will have to be taken!! Can anyone tell me if they all go through this?

6 Responses to “I’m a big loser!”


  1. 1 Sara
    April 20, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Bug is going through an “I win!” phase. He wins at all sorts of random things. It’s really cute to hear him randomly shout “I win!” at things like getting out of bed. lol

    On the other hand, we haven’t introduced the word loser into his vocabulary yet so he isn’t aware that if you don’t win, you lose. I’m sure it will come up sooner rather than later, but for now I’m enjoying everyone being a winner in my house. lol

    Too funny about the loser sign…lol

    Oh, and that had to be heck on your diet eating another piece of bread to make Ricky happy…lol Actually, the title of the post made me think this was a big weight loss post. I hope the diet is going well!

  2. April 20, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    We tend to settle all disputes by the scientific method of paper, scissor, stone. From the sounds of what you’ve just described, this would only lead to best out of 3, 5 etc etc….

  3. April 21, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    This is very normal to me and something we have experienced. Don’t panic too much.

    It is a good time to teach a lesson about it and drive forward!

    I’ve told him there’s no such thing as a loser. He now tells me I am the runner up. It’s the most tactful thing I can think of! I’m telling him he doesn’t HAVE to be the winner every time… ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. April 22, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    oh yes….sugar is big on winner, and doesn’t make the most gracious loser. we are working on accepting comingin second.

  5. 5 Skry
    May 10, 2008 at 4:02 am

    LOSER
    LOSER
    LOSER
    LOSER
    LOSERLOSER
    LOSERLOSER

    Hee hee! You gotta love Ricky ๐Ÿ˜€ He was the winner at the “Pee on my shoe” competition last time Brian and I were playing with him in your dad’s garden.

    He decided he was going to go to the toilet there and then, nothing was going to stop him, and while Brian and I tried to pull his pants up (which he had just dropped) he went all over my left foot!

    I guess on the loser stakes it was 1-0 to Ricky that day! Last time I play that game with him, although beating him at it would put a smile on my face, probably followed by your swift-moving hand!! [slap]

  6. 6 suzy2110
    May 10, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Can I just point out to everyone that Skry who posted above is the Keith mentioned in this post- so he can do this kind of thing and get away with it… **rolls eyes*** ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

