26
Mar
08

Yikes! A rat!

I was mucking out my horses at the weekend, and when I started to muck out Morning’s stable, I found, to my horror, a dead rat!

The poor thing had obviously died at the hands of my favourite pony- there was evidence of stamping- and it had then been covered in a large pile of hay as if she was hiding the evidence! Morning is clearly not a fan!

I was very surprised that she killed it- horses are normally very passive creatures and I’ve never seen her act in an agressive manner in the 21 years I have owned her. I trust this pony 100% with my very small children (who regularly hug her legs, pull her tail, etc etc!), and can honestly say I have had some of the best moments of my life with her. I have to admit that I am looking at her with new eyes though!

It’s highly unlikely that she just stood on it by accident. Horses are very sensitive and stand on surprisingly few things without meaning to. I can only imagine that this hapless animal was trying to eat her food and she didn’t appreciate it.

In my experience, the ONLY motivating factor when it comes to horses is food. So, you come between my girl and her dinner, you gonna face the consequences, buddy!!!! 😀

Here is a picture of the murderer, Song of Morning. She is an old girl of 26 now, and one of the great loves of my life! 🙂 I forgive her!

Photobucket

4 Responses to “Yikes! A rat!”


  1. 1 Sara
    March 26, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    That’s to funny about the rat being hidden under the hay like she was hiding the evidence. It does sound like it was eating her food for it to die a horrible death by squashing. Morning is a very beautiful horse and I love seeing pics of you and baby Ricky again!

  2. March 26, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Eeek! Smart horse. 🙂 And beautiful horse too! Wow! Love the shot of you and Ricky.

  3. March 26, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I am not sure I like the way Morning is either looking at the camera or at the person taking the picture…especially knowing how the rat met its’ eternal fate!

    LOL, it’s just the flash- her eyes are dark brown. And yeah, she was pissed off when that pic was taken. It was the only one I could find in my Photobucket!! 🙂

  4. March 27, 2008 at 1:24 am

    A mouse was outside the door in work yesterday and the girls all shivered their spines and stared out through the glass doors to make sure it wasn’t there before they left work. It was pretty amusing – what’s a 3 inch mouse going to do to you?!!
    I’m glad to say we had two mice a while back in our house but they’re both gone now thanks to some Adamson brother teamwork.
    I’ve read they go for peanut butter but the evidence for me proves otherwise.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

