21
Mar
08

Brutally aware of getting older!

I’m heading towards my mid thirties. Yeah, not so old just yet, but things are definitely not working like they used to all of a sudden!

I am suddenly aware that there’s a good reason you don’t see someone over a certain age sitting with their legs curled under them in their armchair, my previous favourite way to sit. If I do that for more than ten minutes these days, it takes me about half an hour to get up and another ten minutes to hobble to the bathroom while my legs try and get back in action.

Also, my hands!!! Where did all those veins come from?? Are those little freckles REALLY the beginnings of liver spots? How did this happen?

When I look in the mirror, I still see (blindly and foolishly) a girl of, oh, maybe 23 or so, who still weighs less than the average school bus and who doesn’t have crow’s feet the size of Europe.

I wonder what I’ll see ten years from now? Maybe I will post then, yearning for the day when I was 32. Actually, I’m sure of it!

I’m not sad- goodness knows I did ALL the living I could have done in my youth, and I don’t regret a thing- just incredulous! 😀

4 Responses to “Brutally aware of getting older!”


  1. March 21, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    There is a picture of my wife that was taken the week that we first met. I am usre that I still look like I did then, she is the one who has changed. Her thoughts are just the opposite.

    That was about 14 years, three kids, two houses and 300 grey hairs ago.

  2. March 21, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    aw yes…..getting older. It is a really thrill. I was laughing at you describing getting up after sitting like that. I think it is funny how hard it is just for me to get up off the floor these days. tee hee

  3. March 22, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Girl… I feel you! I will be 34 this May (say it isn’t so) and I think it’s the pregnancy and kids, more than anything else, that has aged me! I mean, I was carded for cigarettes (yes, that would mean they thought I was under 18) only THREE YEARS AGO!!!!!! Now, people call me, “ma’am”. Ugh.

    But, you are not getting liver spots yet. Trust me. I’m sure they’re just the effects of sun on your fair skin.

  4. 4 Emer
    March 22, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Never is the ticking of the pocket-watch of Father Time more audible that when you are single, 30 and have no kids.

    Pass the earplugs…


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,598 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

