18
Mar
08

More breast feeding indecision

Sometimes I think I am done….and then not.

We’re down to once a day and sometimes not even that. There’s nothing there any more at all- I don’t even use the left boob any more and it didn’t hurt, not even the first couple of days.

He isn’t very bothered any more and only even asks if he is really tired or upset about something. So, it’s very much my problem and not his. Part of me thinks I should just stop, that I am sending my little son mixed signals and that I am being very selfish in continuing at all. Part of me thinks that while we’re both getting some comfort from it, where’s the harm!

What a weird psychological state I find myself in. He’s going to be ten months old this Saturday- and is very nearly walking- I never thought in a million years that we’d still be going at this stage. I’m proud of my achievement but also wonder if, psychologically, it’s been the best thing for me. Certainly now, when he’s perfectly happy to let go of it, and I find myself…not….

I think it’s probably just a backlash against his growing up too darn quickly. He’s going to be my last baby- and I think I am not quite ready to let that stage go yet!

4 Responses to “More breast feeding indecision”


  1. 1 Corey
    March 19, 2008 at 6:12 am

    Oh Suzy….please don’t be so hard on yourself. you are NOT hurting him. If he enjoys it…then it is fine. If you were shoving your boobie in his face and making him nurse…I’d be worried. LOL

    Nursing is so much more than just feeding your baby. It is even more than bonding. It is a way of nurturing your child and your own soul. WE are made to BF and it is normal and natural. Please let up on yourself. Sugar is still nursing. the world health association says, to continue as long as it is mutually pleasurable to both mother and child.

  2. 2 Leigh
    March 19, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Oh Suzy, I remember how hard it was when breastfeeding came to an end, not only did my poor boobs feel redundant but I did too a little. I breastfed Miss Soph for 20 months and thought our special bond was broken to an extent because we had been literally attached to each other for so long. I need not have worried now we have a million special things that only we do- our bubble baths with our bubble bath machine, our girly days out, our weekly pedicures, baking cookies and hundreds of other little things, poor Stu sometimes gets told to go back to work when he intrudes on the “Girls only” ( he can take it, hes outnumbered !!). I just wanted to say I empathise completely. If Robbie still wants to feed then hes not done yet, babies largely self wean ( they certainly give the signs), when he doesnt want any more, he will continuously refuse it xx

  3. March 19, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Hugs, Suzy! Try not to overthink this. As long as he’s still asking and you’re still enjoying the BF relationship, then by all means soak up the precious extra snuggle/bonding time. No harm in it at all. It actually sounds like the perfect situation!

  4. 4 suzy2110
    March 19, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Thanks all- you do make me feel better! I am such a numpty sometimes, lol! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,565 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

