17
Mar
08

Happy St Patrick’s Day!

Hope everyone is having a great St Patrick’s day today. I see some of my NZ friends are feeling a little homesick because (In Lou’s words) St Patrick’s Day there is even more cheesy than here!

I am at work. That’s one of the peculiarities of living in Northern Ireland- only some companies shut for the day…leaving the rest of us wallowing in self pity while others have a day off. Ian is off, and the kid’s daycare is shut, so he’s home with the kids today. It’s a gloriously sunny day so I hope they can get out and about and enjoy themselves.

I plan on drinking coffee, furtively surfing the net and generally doing as little work as possible.

It always amuses me that other countries around the world seem to make much more of a deal of St Patrick’s Day than we do here. I hope my Stateside friends will enjoy their green (YUCK- think of the chemicals!!) beer and their parades. I know there are parades here, especially in Downpatrick where my Dad lives, and which has close ties with St Patrick, but nothing on the scale of some places around the world.

Noone ever answers me this when I ask it on my baby boards- so maybe someone will here- I once read that they dye some of the rivers in the States green on St Patrick’s Day. Is this really true? How does that work out environmentally, it sounds rather scary!

Anyhow, hope you have/had a great day! Post and let me know what you got up to (even if you don’t know me- c’mon, don’t be shy, I need something to alleviate the boredom in work!! 🙂 )

3 Responses to “Happy St Patrick’s Day!”


  1. March 17, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    I can’t answer the river question from experience, although I hear Chicago does this with environmentally safe coloring.

    Personally, I grew up on the shores of the beautiful Lake Erie and it is always a greenish-brown. St. Patricks Day was the one day that it didn’t seem odd!

  2. 2 suzy2110
    March 17, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    I visited Chicago a couple of years ago and was wondering about the colour of the river there- it seemed too pretty to be true, lol!

    Would love to visit more of the States one day! 🙂

  3. 3 Valerie
    March 18, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Suzy I have never heard of anyplace dying rivers green.. atleast none in NY. (although I am sure there are some rivers that are always green haha)
    Val


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,474 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

