14
Mar
08

Remembering my Mum

Today would have been my mother’s 59th birthday, and it’s the first time she isn’t here to celebrate it. She died on October 25th 2007.

I think in a lot of ways I am still trying to come to terms with the fact that she isn’t there any more. A lot of the time, one of the kids will do something and I’m half way to the phone to let her know, even now! I’m so sorry that she is missing them grow up. I miss her advice, especially when one of them is not well- she was a doctor and always had helpful things to say if they were sick. She was SO delighted with Robbie and she would have been so excited to see him learning to crawl, pull up and develop. Plus we’ve only recently been able to 100% say that he definitely has brown eyes, which she would have been very pleased with! Ricky she always doted on too. He still asks about her and clearly misses her.

Here’s a pic taken a while ago in the garden she loved, with my brother Brian, Ricky and Sophie the dog-

Photobucket

Mum hadn’t been well for a long time and was constantly in a lot of pain. I hope she is very much at peace now.

Thinking of you today, Mum. Love you.

6 Responses to “Remembering my Mum”


  1. March 14, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Lots of hugs today, Suzy! That’s a beautiful picture…your smile looks so much like hers. 🙂 I’m quite certain that you and your sweet boys still make her so proud.

  2. March 14, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    “Love is repaid by love alone.” Her love lives on in you and now’s the time to pay it forward.

    Cheer up, it’s her first birthday in heaven.

  3. March 14, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    I am thinking of you so much today Suzy! If I were near…I’d give you a huge hug!

  4. March 17, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    am really sorry to hear about your mum, suzy. xx

  5. 5 Emer
    March 17, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    I was thinking about you McElewaines at the weekend love. I hope that you are all doing well. I said a wee prayer for Alison on Friday also. 🙂

  6. October 4, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I wrote letters to my Mom and published them to an aol website once a month for the first year after I lost her. It led me to online jounaling at the suggestion of my friend Laura. I still write memories and thoughts of her. It makes me feel close to her still. I hope you continue to write entries just like this one.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,588 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

