10
Mar
08

Lunch at The Buck’s Head, Dundrum

I am aware that my blog these days seems to veer between me moaning about my weight, and telling you all about how I’ve just eaten out yet again…

However….ahem….

 My Dad took me out for lunch yesterday to The Buck’s Head in Dundrum. He had a friend up from Dublin for a few days and it was lovely to be invited along!

The Buck’s Head is absolutely one of my favourite places to eat. There are two parts to the restaurant, which are complete polar opposites. One part looks like a traditional Irish pub, cosy, with roaring (gas-log imitation, but you can only tell when really close up!) fire and some nice paintings, dark wood, etc. The other half, which we ate in yesterday, is a large airy, very modern room with a high ceiling, pale decor and larger tables. Both parts are comfortable, tastefully decorated and pleasant.

They have a set lunch menu on a Sunday, but the choices were pretty varied and, as always, left me torn! For starters, I went for prawn cocktail (it was a toss up between that and some duck won tons, which my Dad had). It was lovely, with good prawns and some fresh pineapple on the side. My Dad’s won tons were great too- served with a chili jam which packed quite a punch. Pet decided not to have a starter.

My main course was pork with a cider cream sauce, which was really good- the pork was very tender and the sauce delicious. My Dad had cod with a parmesan crust, which we managed to get all over the table when he was transferring a bit to me! I liked it a lot, and will replicate at home! Pat went for roast beef, which looked great- what an absolutely massive portion though, it would have done all three of us! They supply sides of champ and some steamed veggies- broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, all cooked nicely.

For pudding, Dad and I decided to order two different things and split them, something we often do! I had meringue and Dad ordered a flan with apricot and almond, both lovely.

The food in The Buck’s Head is always delicious, the service is very understated but excellent (though don’t expect much chat from them!) and the rooms are pleasant to be in. The only criticism I have of the place is that it really, really isn’t child friendly. They have a note on the menu that they do kids portions but that the minimum charge is £8.95 (which I discovered to my cost once when I went with my Mum with Ricky in tow- he had what can only be described as the most expensive bowl of soup EVER!). They have one or two high chairs but the ambience in the place is very adult and if your child isn’t going to sit in silence, you can expect some dirty looks from both staff and clientelle…last time we had Ricky there, I had to leave without eating my pudding because he got quite restless! This isn’t really a criticism- that’s just the kind of place it is.

You can also expect to pay quite a lot, but the food is so good that I think it definitely justifies the cost. You do get great value for money.

A lovely afternoon out!

3 Responses to “Lunch at The Buck’s Head, Dundrum”


  1. March 10, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Sounds delicious! I love your restaurant reviews – it makes me feel like I was right there with you! 🙂 Wish I was!

  2. 2 alison
    April 16, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    this is alison,chef owner of the Bucks Head Dundrum.I was delighted to stumble across your eating experience in my restaurant,im glad you enjoyed your lunch!

    I am delighted to read your comment, Alison! Thank you for many memorable meals- I am sure I will be back soon! suzy2110

  3. 3 Kate
    May 26, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I went to the Buck’s Head last week having been to some similar places in Killinchy & Bangor in the same week. The Buck’ Head was by far the best, the nicest meal I’ve had in 18 months.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

