03
Mar
08

Mrs Inconsistency & Confusion

Robbie is my second and final child. I have big bleeding issues when I have a baby, and they warned me last time that a further pregnancy would be very high risk for me, and that I needed to think long and hard about it.

I’ve done my thinking, and I’m not having any more. I am certain I won’t change my mind on that- I loathe pregnancy and intensely dislike the sleepless nights of infancy! Plus it’s just too much of a risk to take. I have two amazing and beautiful children, and I am totally content with that.

I’m feeling a bit of a pang recently though, as I realise that Robbie is turning from a baby into a toddler, and Ricky is long since turned from a toddler to a child, that I no longer have any “babies”. Now, before I start trotting out cliches about them always being my baby, etc etc, I don’t mean it in that sense. I’ll always be their Mummy, of course.

But- it’s rapidly getting to the stage where I won’t be breast feeding ever again, which I feel surprisingly un-OK with, given that it took me nearly three months to not absolutely hate it! Plus before I know it, there won’t be any more rocking my baby to sleep in the evenings- it’ll be like Ricky’s current bedtime routine where he sits in bed while I read him three books (of his choice, no less!) and sing him a song with the lights off before he goes to sleep.

I love reading the books and singing the songs, but there’s something special about sitting in the dark with your little one snuggled against you, sleepy and warm and content to be with you.

So- while, on one hand, I can’t wait for Robbie to be walking and talking, and I am massively excited about his and Ricky’s blooming friendship, part of me feels like it’s just cruel of nature to move on like this! We’ve bonded very closely, and I think that a lot of the reason I haven’t stopped breast feeding yet is because I feel like I will lose that bond when I stop (stupid, huh?!!). Ricky was only breast fed for 2 months, due to supply issues which wouldn’t resolve no matter what I did, and it took us a lot longer to bond like that. I still sometimes feel that he is closer to Ian than to me, though we are also very close now. I think I am being a superstitious idiot about this, and it’s probably just the sleep deprivation making me all “angsty” again **rolls eyes**, so I need to wise UP! 😀

Am I the only numpty who feels this way? If you’ve been through it, how did you deal?

If you made it this far, you get the prize!!

5 Responses to “Mrs Inconsistency & Confusion”


  1. March 3, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    The father/son bond is much different than the mother/son and father/daughter bond.

    In our house, we do a “campout night” where we bunk in the same room as the child. One of them goes in with mom in our room and dad hits the floor with a matress in the kids room. We try to do this once a month.

  2. 2 suzy2110
    March 3, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    That’s a really cool idea- thanks!

    I said in my post above that “I” read Ricky his books, and that’s not altogether true- Ian and I take a turn about so we put one kid each to bed every night. But it’s great to have some new ideas!

    Thanks again!

  3. March 3, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Oh Suzy! I feel this way daily! It’s a cruel world, I tell you! I am just now starting to come to terms with the fact that Jocelyn is the last. Now that she’s becoming more mobile and talkative, I’m realizing that we’re about to start a new page in this family adventure. One where everyone speaks for themself and EVERYONE can join in on the fun. When the kids are babies one parent usually sits out on games or movies, etc. while the other one takes the older kids. Now that they are all getting older we can truly ALL do things together. I’m starting to be ok with that.

  4. March 3, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Oh Suzy. I can only imagine how hard it will be to see the last leaving babyhood behind. Yet another transition in the life of a mama!

    You’ve been tagged for a meme when you have time. 😉

  5. March 6, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Lots of hugs, Suzy! I get teary thinking about how soon I’ll likely be in that same place…wondering how on earth the baby time went by so quickly. Lori had some wise words. I think the next stage will bring different, but very sweet new experiences as your boys grow and can join in all of the outdoorsy activities that you and Ian enjoy.

    But yeah…being a Mama is so hard…*sigh*


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 84,482 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

