26
Feb
08

Doubting my header tag!

OK, so I state in my header “who needs sleep when you’ve got great kids”. However I think it is universally accepted that, in order to live, you need some sleep. And it just isn’t happening in my house.

 Crying it out is just not an option for me. I know it’s controversial and everyone has a different opinion, but it just isn’t for us. I did my degree in psychology, and all the research I read back then told me that it can damage your child. While I am sure most kids are absolutely fine, and it works well for some people, I just can’t do it.

Ricky has only just started sleeping through the night on a regular basis, but is still up once or twice a night at least two days a week. That isn’t a big problem. I am so glad he’s finally sleeping better!

However, now that Ricky sleeps better, Robbie’s sleep has totally disintegrated. Last night was a good night- and I was up for hours with him. The night before, I had a total of about 1 hour of sleep, and then had to get up and drag myself into work. Zombie wouldn’t be in it!

Sorry for moaning and complaining. I am feeling rather run down and sorry for myself! I know we went through this with Ricky too- at length- and I am praying it doesn’t go on as long with my sweet little bundle!

That’s just it- they are WONDERFUL kids, lots of fun, beautiful and the lights of my life. It’s a shame they are knocking my head in as they grow! 😀

OK, grumble over. One day, they’ll be teenagers and I will spend my life complaining about how they won’t get out of bed. I’m never happy!

5 Responses to “Doubting my header tag!”


  1. February 27, 2008 at 5:13 am

    okay Suzy…I am totally not for Crying it Out either, so you won’t get that advice from me, but I am curious as to what you are doing.

    could you describe what happens when he wakes, and what he seems to want. What do you do and so on….I really, really really want to help if I can.

    hugs.

  2. 2 suzy2110
    February 27, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Corey, I am quite sure I am doing SOMETHING wrong, lol! He goes to bed quite happily at about 7pm and sleeps until around midnight, usually without a break.
    Then he’ll wake up crying, and normally I will give him a minute or so to make sure he means it, as occasionally he goes back to sleep. When I am sure that he is serious, I go and pick him up (crying stops instantly!) and we sit in the armchair in his room and have a cuddle. He gets a nurse or some bottle (depending on how many times he’s been up and how sore my boobs are, ha ha!) and goes back to sleep. When he’s very sleepy, I put him back in his cot.
    Sometimes- like last night- one long cuddle is enough. More often, he’s back in his cot within ten minutes, but wakes repeatedly through the night expecting the same treatment.
    Recently as well, he’s started waking, not being interested in nursing or drinking out of a bottle, just wants to sit on my knee and be cuddled but is wide awake and won’t go back to sleep for HOURS. If I put him back in his cot like that, he screams bloody murder!
    I’d love your comments (and anyone else’s for that matter!)
    Thanks!

  3. 3 Emer
    February 27, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I remember when I was a kid, my uncles used to tickle me senseless about 45 mins before my bedtime. They would do this for about 15 – 20 mins with me and Heather running about the place like mentalists and getting REALLY out of breath. Heather and I would literally FALL into bed after this a sleep like the dead.
    Does Robbie have many daytime naps? Maybe cutting these back and making sure that he eats only really easy to digest food with ZERO sugar from about 5:00 pm might help also.
    I would also recommend trying quite a warm bath with the Johnsons Baby Bedtime Bath stuff and dimmed lights before bed too. This might help!
    Last suggestion is looking up some baby massage techniques online and trying them out on him. Some babies find this really restful.

    I realise this advice from a single and childless woman is probably making you laugh outloud… but being sleep diminished is the absolute pits and I really feel for you.

    Good luck!

    Emer x

  4. 4 suzy2110
    February 27, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Emer, my dear friend, your advice is never laughable and always appreciated! Plus, it sounds so reasonable that I have to question the fact that you don’t have kids- YET- because you are going to be the bestest mummy ever.

    I will try the tickling tomorrow! 😀

    As for food, he gets a balanced meal once we get home from work/daycare- but the earliest I can manage to get it together is 6pm. Maybe that’s part of the problem. That said, a girl in the hospital last year suggested that we start giving Ricky supper when she heard he wouldn’t sleep, and believe it or not, it has made a huge difference to how he sleeps.

    Ughhh— parenting is SO confusing!!

    Thanks for your comments, pet! I miss you- for feck’s sake sort it out and meet up with me next time you’re home!!!!!!! xxx

  5. February 29, 2008 at 6:43 am

    I will come back to this in the next few days Suzy. I don’t have the time to type as much as I want to here.
    YOu aren’t doing anything wrong, but there might be a way to wean him off so many night wakings.
    hugs.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

