24
Feb
08

Dad’s birthday party

Last night saw 15 of us visit the Cuan restuarant in Strangford for my Dad’s birthday party.

We’d booked weeks in advance- we’ve eaten there many times before and know the food is good, and that the service is amazing. The owner, Peter McErlain, and his wife Caroline, run the place very well and are much in evidence as you eat, even though Peter does much of the cooking himself.

The Cuan had happily complied with all of my demands, lol- including agreeing to lay on a lemon meringue pie for my Dad (it’s his favourite).  Nothing was too much trouble. I had made a cake in the shape of a swan for Dad and they happily let me drop that off on Satuday during the day, for use later!

There were lovely little touches during the meal like the personalised menus (Happy Birthday Graham, from all your friends and family, and all at The Cuan! for example), and the food was all out of this world, even to this rather hard to please girlie! I had pate to start off with, roast rib eye beef for my main course (the Champ was AMAZING- better than I even make myself- so I dread to think how much butter and cream there was in it!!) and cheesecake for pud. They brought the cake out with the tea and coffee and I think Dad was really pleased with it- even though it was pretty wick!! Here’s pic so you can laugh at it…

 Photobucket

Dad made a speech at the start, and I made a brief speech at the end of the evening. It was a great evening and I really think everyone who attended had a lovely time. It was me and my brothers, Marty and Brian’s great pleasure to throw a party for Dad, and The Cuan rose to the occasion magnificently. Well done to all concerned! I actually feel moved to write them a letter of thanks for such a great evening!

1 Response to “Dad’s birthday party”


  1. 1 Jessica
    March 14, 2008 at 4:51 am

    I’m so glad everyone had a nice time. I’m mad at you for not using red velvet cake 😛


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 84,591 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

