19
Feb
08

Smoke damage!

I bought this beautiful long Kaliko cardigan off ebay- it was one I’d been trying to get for a while, but kept getting outbid, and I was delighted when I got it in the end for a lot less than I had previously bid.

It was delivered to my work, and initially I was delighted- I opened the package and it seemed brand new and as described. So, being obsessive-compulsive as I am, I galloped off to leave positive feedback for the item. Hmmmmmppphhhh.

I got it home- next day, went to wear it with a dress I have, and as soon as I put it on, I noticed this funky smell, kind of like mothballs. It was rather strong. I put it through a woolen wash, but the smell stuck. In desparation, I put it through a normal wash. Twice.

So- it still stinks. And I am left with an expensive designer cardigan that I frantically want to wear (and which, I might add, looks FAB) but which stinks. STINKS!!!!!! I am so pissed off! I have bought loads of things on ebay which have been less than 100% satisfactory, but this is SO annoying! Especially as I gave positive feedback! Grrrrrrr!

4 Responses to “Smoke damage!”


  1. 1 Sara
    February 20, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Have you tried soaking it in a solution of white vinegar and water? Vinegar is sometimes good for getting smells out of fabric. If you can get your hands on some, try a borax and water solution. I’ve had good luck with borax.

    Good luck…and that really sucks that it stinks. If you get it to smell better, you should take a picture of you wearing it.

  2. 2 Sara
    February 23, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    Did you have any luck with getting the smell out of the cardigan?

  3. 3 suzy2110
    February 24, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I didn’t try the vinegar yet, Sara- I plan to, though, so thanks and I will let you know! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 84,564 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

