19
Feb
08

Big weekend for my boys!

I had a lovely weekend, and it marked some milestones for my two sons as well.

We went to Stormont Park on Saturday morning, which was a beautiful if cold day. They have a fantastic children’s playground there, with clearly defined areas for toddlers and big kids. The main focus for the big kids is one of those great big “castles” with three or four long slides coming out of it. Until now, Ricky has been too little to go on this, as he couldn’t climb the ladders safely to get on the slides. However this weekend, he did it! He was so proud of himself, and we were too.

 After lunch, I took the boys to Dundrum Castle while Ian cleared up in the house a bit, and then mucked out the horses and went home.

Sunday was another beautiful day. Ian got up with the kids- a rare treat for me- and I stayed in bed until 8.30am, which was great. I am really not getting any sleep at all. Robbie is still getting a lot of bother from his teeth and will be up once an hour or so all night. It’s pretty miserable! We went through all of this with Ricky too. He’s only just started sleeping through on a regular basis. I really hope Robbie won’t leave it so late to start sleeping properly!

In the afternoon, me and Dad took the boys and the dogs to Kilclief beach at the mouth of Strangford Lough. It was an amazing day- totally still and sunny, the sun felt warm but my car said 6.5 degrees and it felt cold in the shade. Dad played with Ricky while I took the dogs and Robbie for a walk at the water’s edge. I threw a stick for Sophie and Bonzo and it was a lovely peaceful afternoon.

Robbie had big news this weekend. He started to pull up! I was very surprised because it is way earlier than Ricky did it- he was more like 10.5 months before he did it. Plus Robbie has only been crawling for a couple of weeks. I guess he’ll be walking in no time. That’s when the fun will start- him and Ricky heading off in opposite directions and me wondering which impending disaster to avert first!

We also finished the boy’s bedrooms over the weekend. Ricky’s has been done for a while now- he has an outer space theme. Robbie’s is an under the sea theme and it looks fantastic! If I can work out how to post pics, I will do it! Robbie went into his own room for the first time on Saturday night. I had installed a night light to try and make the transition easier for him, but he didn’t sleep at all, and when I left it off on Sunday night he slept much better. Go figure!

 Robbie’s Room-
img_3356.jpgimg_3356.jpgimg_3355.jpgimg_3354.jpg

Ricky’s room-
img_3360.jpgimg_3359.jpg<

4 Responses to “Big weekend for my boys!”


  1. 1 Sara
    February 19, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Wow! The boys rooms look amazing! Did you guys do all the painting and things yourself? Yeah on Ricky finally sleeping through the night and for Robbie pulling up! I hope his teeth start feeling better soon so he can start sleeping better as well!

  2. 2 suzy2110
    February 19, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    We painted the rooms, but the cool bits are these huge vinyl stickers that I got on ebay! If you make a mistake, you can peel them off and restick. They are great! Thanks Sara!

  3. February 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Suzy those rooms are fabulous!

  4. February 19, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Hello…so excited to see a post here. tee hee… I am easily pleased though. 🙂

    Sounds like a wonderful and productive weekend. woo hoo for milestones. 🙂 I do hope you get proper sleep soon, but I love your title….so creative.


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Blog Stats

  • 84,545 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

