30
Sep
08

My first round of chemotherapy

I’m just home from having my first round of chemo. It went fine- I still feel grand for now, the side effects won’t kick in for another few hours or so, apparently.

The first three rounds are FEC and the second three rounds will be taxotere.

I thought it was going to be a drip, but because I had the picc line put in, the nurse just pushed it all through that, so it was all quite quick.

One of the drugs made me sting all over, but it was over quickly. The nurse warned me that it would feel like I was sitting on nettles, and she wasn’t wrong! :-D

So- not too bad so far. It’s done. One down, five to go. :-)

I also saw “The Wig Lady” and my government supplied wig is en route. I have gone for a long style, the shorter ones were not good with my chubby cheeks. Ian said they made me look like Kelly Osborne. Will be kicking his ass for that later!!!!

For those of you (Jenny!!) who want to know such things, the wig I’ve gone for is a Rene of Paris one called Stevie, in marble brown. I’ve already ordered myself one on the internet which is also Rene of Paris, on Jenny’s recommendation, it is called Jade, in light chocolate.

The wig looked so nice that I will definitely model it for you all once it arrives. It’s a big improvement on my natural frizzy mess! :-P

OK, off to put my feet up for a while. I actually feel fine, and might work for a couple of hours this afternoon.

12 Responses to “My first round of chemotherapy”


  1. 1 Pamela
    September 30, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Glad to hear the first round went OK. Was thinking about you this morning. Hope you are now relaxing and getting the pampering you deserve. Always thought Robbie was your double even before you posted the pics!

    Thanks Pamela! Actually I am going to work from home this afternoon. I really don’t feel too bad- yet!

  2. September 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    My grandfather always felt lowest a day or two later, so take it easy! And good luck!

    Why thank you, TB, who is now known as The Cavalry. :-D Sorry your grandfather had to face this too.

  3. September 30, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I am wishing you the best from this side of the pond!

    Thank you, my friend! :-D

  4. September 30, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    I’ll say it again…..”HUGS!!!!”

    Thanks Corey! xx

  5. September 30, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I like your choice of wigs – just had a quick look through the wonders of google searching (I’m a little bit addicted to that!). I love the longer one – Stevie. Very glamorous!

    Hope that you stay feeling well and that you can be the exception to the feeling icky side effects!

    Keep smiling! x

    Thanks Jennie- it’s a bit too long for me. The lady told me though not to cut it because it would get tatty, and then we could smarten it up by cutting it.

  6. 6 Jenny
    September 30, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    You got a Stevie from the government? That is really good – those are good ones! It’s from the Amore line, which has a monotop (fake scalp effect) rather than just a messy “parting” that doesn’t bear close scrutiny. The messy ones can look very natural too, but for a parting on straight hair, it’s best to get a monotop if you can.

    I have a Stevie in Creamy Blonde colour that I got from eBay – it was used, and a bit dry at the ends (those long ones tangle easily), so I chopped it into a bob after washing it. But they are really great – the hairline at the parting is extremely natural looking. Good choice, Suzy!

    Right, I’m going to shut up about wigs now, and wish you well in your first chemo step. Hope you’re still feeling okay.

    Glad you approve, ha ha!

    Actually, the honeymoon seems to be over- I’m throwing up all round me! I am thinking of the potential weight loss! :-D

    Will try and get that dress in the post tomorrow. It should show up around your birthday, consider it my birthday present to you!

  7. 7 Skry
    October 1, 2008 at 12:58 am

    Sorry to hear about how you’re feeling, but I guess it is to be expected. Hope it’s something that doesn’t last too long, though I liked your comment about the weight loss. Even chemo can’t ruining your sense of humour! :D

    I hope you get over this soon, and I’m dying to see you in your wig. I don’t know if you have seen the Wigs & Wine party Jen had, but that’s the only time I’ve seen anyone other than Jen in a wig.

    Can’t say they looked as good as Jens do on her though, but that was probably due to inexperience with wigs and how to put them on (a couple of them I couldn’t figure out if they were on back to front or not without a mirror and 10 minutes!) and part of it was due to the drink involved. It was a fun night though and it did make me aware of how a wig could look realistic and very appealing on more people than just the buyer of the wig.

    Hope things go well over the next while. Lots of hugs and schnookies heading your way from NZ,

    Schnookums

    I did see the pics from the wigs & wine party- my brother looked like he was enjoying cross dressing rather too much for my liking!! :-D You look alarmingly pretty as a girl too, Keith- despite the goatie beard and piercings!!

  8. October 1, 2008 at 4:31 am

    With a spirit like that, it sounds to me like you will be able to get through anything.

    When my Aunt Jenny had cancer in the late 70’s the group that helped patients with wigs named one after her. She was so very proud of it and only wore it on special occasions. She opted for bright, silky scarves wrapped tightly around her cute bald head. Hey, I said it was the 70’s! ;)

    That’s so cool! She sounds like a wonderful lady! I have many, many scarves and hats on standby- I am really lucky to have lots of great friends who have knitted me loads of stuff and sent loads of gifts! :-)

  9. October 1, 2008 at 4:40 am

    I can’t wait to see your wigs! Sorry you’re not feeling the best right now. Sending you lots of (((HUGS))) from across the pond!

    I feel a good bit better today, Karen! Thanks for the hugs!

  10. 10 layla2376 / Leigh
    October 1, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Hope you’re feeling better today xxx

    Yes, the incessant barfing seems to have eased up- I am back at work. :-) I emailed you!

  11. October 1, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I would knit you something, myself, but I only know how to do scarves right now! :)

    I haven’t knitted since I was a kid, and I am fairly sure my knitting back then was rather substandard, so you are better than me! :-P


Leave a Reply

Site Visitors

Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 81,058 hits

Contact Me

copingwithchaosblog AT gmail DOT com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

